All hail the mighty Mold! Winners of the 2021-22 FAW Trophy competition

Mold Alexandra skipper Rhys Nash lifts the FAW Trophy as his jubilant team-mates celebrate. PICTURES: STUART TOWNSEND – BARCUD-COCH PHOTOGRAPHY


MOLD ALEXANDRA 1 (Warren 48)

It was fitting that the man who won the FAW Trophy for Mold is one of the finest strikers to pull on a boot in North Wales football this season.

Danny Warren’s 48th minute decider at the Recreation Ground, Caersws, was his 43rd goal of the season in 36 matches across all competitions.

And what a beautifully-worked goal it was which ultimately sank the hearts of South Wales contenders Baglan Dragons.

Warren was involved in the move himself as he received a pass from skipper Rhys Nash and sharply picked out Matthew Lewis on the right.

Lewis then drilled a low ball across the box and Warren was there to apply an unstoppable right-foot finish.

Tier 4 South Wales Alliance Premier Division leaders Baglan had threatened with an early free kick which was superbly saved by Elliot Quinlan.

Manager Mike Cunningham lifts the FAW Trophy to the delight of his players and staff. Pictures: STUART TOWNSEND – BARCUD-COCH PHOTOGRAPHY

Alex looked very unlucky not to win a penalty for handball in a first half where the Ardal North West table-toppers had just about the better of things.

That breakthrough goal early in the second half really put the all-blues on their way.

Quinlan came up with another super stop late on, while Joey Ormrod was denied by Dragons gloves man Mathew Stanton.

Match-winner Danny Warren (second from right) celebrates with the management team. Pictures: STUART TOWNSEND – BARCUD-COCH PHOTOGRAPHY

Mold celebrated wildly at the final whistle following their first triumph in this national competition.

Alex now have a treble in their sights with the Ardal North West title well within their grasp and the Ardal Northern League Cup final against Caersws to look forward to next month.

In the meantime, Michael Cunningham’s lads are the ninth North Wales team in the last 11 years to lift the FAW Trophy – and how they deserve it!

Danny Warren (furthest right) and his Mold team-mates rejoice after the game’s only goal. Pictures: STUART TOWNSEND – BARCUD-COCH PHOTOGRAPHY


Elliot Quinlan
Matthew Lewis
Steve Watkins
Ryan Coney
Dom Doherty (Henry Carver 90)
Danny Warren
Joey Ormrod
Alex Smith (Jacob Wise 80)
Ellis Hickey (Phil Lloyd 69)
Rhys Nash
Dafydd Griffith
Unused substitutes
Guto Hughes
Jimmy Ellina


Round one – July 17: Penyffordd Lions (h) 7-0 (Conner Kendrick 4, Rakim Newton, Joe Ormrod, Mark Gallagher OG)
Round two – August 7: Greenfield (h) 6-0 (Steve Watkins, Conner Kendrick 3, Henry Carver, Rhys Nash)
Round three – August 21: FC Queen’s Park (h) 4-0 (Conner Kendrick, Rhys Nash, Thomas Edwards, Dan Lloyd)
Round four – September 11: Llangollen Town (a) 2-1 (Rhys Nash, Conner Kendrick)
Round five – October 2: Llandudno Albion (h) 2-2 (Rhys Nash, Dom Doherty) – won 3-1 on penalties
Quarter-final – February 26: Pontyclun (a) 1-0 (Joe Ormrod)
Semi-final – March 19: Rockspur (n) 3-0 (Joe Ormrod, Danny Warren 2)
Final – April 23: Baglan Dragons (n) 1-0 (Danny Warren)

GOALS (26): 9 – Conner Kendrick; 4 – Rhys Nash; 3 – Joe Ormrod; 3 – Danny Warren; 1 – Rakim Newton, Steve Watkins, Henry Carver, Thomas Edwards, Dan Lloyd, Dom Doherty, 1 OG.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: