Rhyl 1879 remain on course for magical treble

Rhyl 1879 celebrate a goal at Penmaenmawr. Picture: Sam Eaden/@eadophoto

NWCFA Intermediate Challenge Cup semi-final

Penmaenmawr Phoenix 0
CPD Y Rhyl 1879 4 (Worthington 44, Atkins 65, Cain pen 79, Ellis 90+2)

For the second time in three weeks CPD Y Rhyl 1879 reached a cup final at the expense of Penmaenmawr.

Gareth Thomas’ side’s latest success over Phoenix, however, was much more emphatic than the first.

Whereas the Cookson Cup semi between the teams on March 12 ended in a narrow 1-0 triumph for Rhyl, Saturday’s Intermediate Cup last four clash saw the Belle Vue outfit far more in control.

The tie at Cae Sling was goalless until a minute before half time, when a Jordan Worthington strike broke the deadlock.

Penmaenmawr Phoenix v CPD Rhyl 1879 (white) at Cae Sling in the semi-final of the NWCFA Intermediate Challenge Cup. Picture: Sam Eaden/@eadophoto

Twenty minutes into the second half, Leon Atkins further confirmed his promise by doubling the away lead.

Tom Cain put away a penalty before Rhyl added the icing on the cake with a great headed goal from Kieran Ellis.

The win was achieved despite the absence of 30-goal top scorer Carl Lamb due to work commitments.

Rhyl 1879 manager Gareth Thomas was very pleased with his team’s performance which made it 20 games without defeat in all competitions – 19 of those wins.

No quarter given at Cae Sling. Picture: Sam Eaden/@eadophoto

“I thought we were excellent and full value for the win,” he said. “I can’t fault the lads, another good performance and another final.

“We need to focus on the league now, though. Finals are more for the fans, the league is our bread-and-butter and our minds will be on our next two league games from now.”

Rhyl are away to local rivals Kinmel Bay next Saturday and then host Glan Conwy seven days later before meeting Llannefydd in the Cookson Cup Final at Colwyn Bay on April 20.

More Rhyl goal celebrations. Picture: Sam Eaden/@eadophoto


Penmaenmawr Phoenix

Dion Jones, James Lansdowne, Kacper Spirydowicz, Ian Pattinson, Tom Prince (James Cory 83), Stevie Jones, Alfie Caldecott, Alex Brownhill (Benn Lundstram 73), Stephen Bibby (Daniel Hughes 51), Shaheen Ahmed (c), Francesco Gallina.

CPD Y Rhyl 1879

Ryan Roberts, Chris Bennett, Zac Tyler-Holland (Tom Cain 79), James Jones, Reece Fairhurst (c), Miles Todd, Jordan Worthington, Mike Walsh, Kieran Ellis, Leon Atkins, Daniel Sim.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: