Goals galore once more in the Mike Beech Memorial Trophy

New Brighton Villa (yellow) won 5-0 at Sychdyn

The 15 group matches in the latest round of North East Wales League Mike Beech Memorial Trophy meetings produced a total of 86 goals.


Ruabon Rovers enjoyed an excellent 4-2 win at Coedpoeth United.

Daniel Kebell (2), Andrew Swarbrick and Chris Bennion all netted in the first half for the North East Wales Championship side, while Coedy from a level above could only muster replies from David Hughes and Kady Seabrook.

Halkyn and Flint Mountain saw off Caerwys Reserves 5-0, Paul Williams, David Walkiewicz, Lucas Cruz, Aled Reece and Lee Messham sharing the goals.


Mynydd Isa Spartans Reserves stunned Premier Division outfit Overton Recreational with a 4-1 victory,

Reece Jones, Liam Doran (2) and Harri Mitchell were all on the mark for the hosts, Christopher Bush with a late response for the visitors.

Benjamin Sim, Robert Negru and Liam Simon guided Greenfield to a 3-1 triumph at Penyffordd Lions, Frederick Howarth with an 83rd minute consolation for the losers.


Connah’s Quay Town piled on the goals in a 12-1 demolition of FC United of Wrexham, Jamie Wynne netting four, including a penalty, Chad Shelbourne a hat-trick, William Leonard a double and there were singles from Bobby Raggett, Matthew Harmey and Tommy Leonard.

David Hughes was the sole FCUW marksman on the stroke of half time.

In midweek, Chirk Town won 4-0 at Ruthin Town Colts, Tristan Lloyd with a treble, including two penalties, Aaron Davies also on target.


Daniel Woosey hit four as Castell Alun Colts swamped Lex XI Reserves 7-0, Edward Brown, Craig Worthington and Ray Jones adding a goal apiece.

Matthew Jones plundered a hat-trick in Cefn Mawr Rangers’ 7-1 success at Caerwys.

Matthew Onissiphorou, Ben Duffy, Samuel Gostage and Lewis George provided one each for the winners, Shea Harding putting the hosts on the scoreboard.


Mynydd Isa Spartans were 4-0 winners at Railway Rovers, Kallum Pierce (2), Jordan Walker and Samuel Riley splitting the goals.

This game was abandoned after 75 minutes but the result stands.

Hawarden Rangers took the spoils 5-3 at Llay Welfare Colts, Thomas Bridges, Joshua Edwards, Joshua Rimmer, Tony Jones and Ellis Jones the away scorers.


New Brighton Villa made it three wins out of three and top the group after a 5-0 win at CPD Sychdyn.

Man of the Match for the away side was Jared Jones, who scored twice and produced a superb performance in the midfield.

Kris Turner, Matthew Robinson and Adam Blunden also found the net for the Yellers.

Goalkeeper Ollie Howarth saved a Sychdyn penalty at 4-0.

NBV passed on best wishes to the home team keeper, who suffered a nasty-looking injury.

Benjamin Wilson, Jack Maybury and Darnell Prescott supplied the first-half goals which sealed Llangollen Town a 3-0 verdict at Castell Alun Colts Reserves.


Liam Lawrence (3, 1 pen), Adam Roberts, Leroy Ngema-Stamp and Charlie Rowley (pen) ensured FC Queen’s Park comfortably triumphed 6-0 at Coedpoeth United Reserves.

Brymbo Lodge took the honours 4-2 at Bellevue, Harvey Jones, Cameron Edwards, Bobby Gregory (OG) and Dylan Sutcliffe making up the away total, Jason Ratcliffe notching both for the Wrexham side.


Borras Park Albion led 1-0 away to Lex XI at half time, Stephen Lee with the 24th minute goal, but the Lawmen’s Owen Williams replied on 57 to secure a 1-1 draw.

Llangollen Town Reserves versus FC Queen’s Park Reserves was postponed due to a waterlogged pitch.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: