Joy at last for island teams in JD Cymru North

Craig Evans (blue) celebrates Llangefni’s opening goal. Picture: DAI SINCLAIR

Llangefni Town 2 (Evans 32, Kelly 47)
Llanidloes Town 0

Llongyfarchiadau Llangefni – a first league win of the season and thoroughly deserved it was too.

Beaten 6-0 at Cae Bob Parry by Prestatyn Town just seven days earlier, Cefni turned the tables in great style to lift themselves off bottom spot.

This first Cymru North victory of the campaign for the Anglesey side came at the 11th attempt.

Cefni started brightest and had a glorious chance to open the scoring inside the first 5 minutes with Craig Evans’ effort going narrowly over bar.

Llanidloes winger Andrew Evans was causing some problems down the right, but could not create any clear cut chances for the visitors as Llangefni’s defence held firm.

On 30 minutes James Saxon’s long range effort went out for a corner.

From the resulting set piece Alun Roberts rose high, his header rattling the crossbar.

It was matter of time until Cefni opened the scoring and that is what they did.

Tom Kelly’s cross was met by Craig Evans, whose clever flick ended up in the back of the net for a great finish.

Just before half-time, a Llanidloes corner clipped the bar. That was the only real chance for the visitors in the opening half.

Celebration time for Llangefni’s players. Picture: DAI SINCLAIR

Llangefni had a dream start to the second half. James Philips made a great run down right, his cross found the on-running Tom Kelly, who controlled it beautifully, beat his marker and slotted home for 2-0.

Llanidloes had couple of half chances falling to Connor Bird and Lance Jones, but it was the hosts looking most likely to score again.

Craig Evans went through on goal one-on-one, but was denied by a fantastic save from Daffs keeper Luke Evans.

Next up is a return journey to Llanidloes this Saturday.

Llangefni Town: Steve Sinclair, James Phillips, Gethin Jones, Alun Roberts, Kieran Edwards, Tom Kelly (Erhan Hyusmen 88), Gari Owen, Jack Smith, Dion Owen (Leon Buckland 53), James Saxon (Ethan Jones 80), Craig Evans.
Attendance: 105.

Holyhead Hotspur 5 (Morris 25, Garmey 36, Summers-Jones 45+2, Gibbs 71, Doran 76)
Gresford Athletic 0

Dean Garmey netted Hotspur’s second. Picture: IAN FRANCIS

It all came right for a Hotspur side which had struggled to score goals this season before going nap against Gresford at the New Stadium.

Darren Garmey’s team had managed to net just six times in their previous 10 matches, so almost doubled their tally at the expense of Athletic, normally a very hard outfit to beat.

The deadlock was broken in the 25th minute when Liam Morris finished from close range a low cross via Dylan Summers Jones, who was an early replacement for the injured Melvin McGinness.

The second goal on 36 minutes came from a well-worked set piece delivered by Jay Gibbs and was finished off with a header by Dean Garmey.

In first half stoppage time, a sweeping counter attack saw Morris break clear and put it on a plate for Summers Jones to tap in at the back post.

Gresford came out fighting after the turnaround and had an effort come back off the post from Aaron Hassall.

However, this did not last long and the fourth came from excellent work by Cai Powell Roberts down the right, crossing for Gibbs to head in unmarked at the rear stick.

Not long after it was five after Summers Jones’ attempt was only parried by the keeper and Leon Doran tapped into an empty net to complete the rout.

Winning manager Darren Garmey said: “This has been coming for a few weeks now and I’m glad we have actually got the result our overall play has deserved.

“Right from the first whistle we were on it today and I have to praise the lads for sticking at it these last few weeks and trusting that the performances were actually good and that we just needed that bit of luck in front of goal or, like today, ruthlessness.”

Hotspur: Paul Pritchard, Cai Powell-Roberts, Adam Pritchard, Luke Roberts, Alex Jones, Harry Lewis, Dafydd Jones (Leon Doran 56), Dean Garmey, Liam Morris (Robert Jones 79), Jay Gibbs, Mel McGinness (Dylan Summers Jones 17).
Attendance: 105.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: