Marc Evans leads the way in Bob Brodie top goalscorer trophy

Bodedern Athletic’s Marc Evans (right) has netted 12 goals in five matches. Picture: WYNNE EVANS

Grassroots North Wales is delighted to announce the competition to crown Anglesey senior football’s highest goalscorer is back.

The Bob Brodie Trophy has been played for since 2011/12 and is named in honour of a much-loved former player and manager who lived on the island.

With no competitive football below tier 1 in 2020-21 due to Covid restrictions, the last Bob Brodie Trophy was won in 2019-20 – a season cut short by coronavirus – by Cemaes Bay marksman Steven Whittaker.

What lies ahead in 2021-22 no-one knows, but for now our football is back and players performing in the tier 2 Cymru North, tier 4 North Wales Coast West Premier Division, tier 5 North Wales Coast West Division One and reserves leagues are all eligible to scoop the Brodie Trophy.

Marc Evans of Bodedern Athletic is the early leader of the goalscorers’ table, having netted 12 goals in just five matches, but what a start to the season for Caergybi’s young talent Louis Chapman – 10 in four matches.

BOB BRODIE TROPHY STANDINGS (list up to date on and including July 26, 2021)

12 – Marc Evans (Bodedern Athletic)
10 – Louis Chapman (Caergybi)
8 – Asa Thomas (Bodedern Athletic)
6 – Anthony Williams (Llangoed)
5 – Marc Parry (CPD Cefni), Tudur Williams (Glantraeth), Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers)
4 – Leon Owen (Pentraeth), Dean Redmond (Menai Bridge Tigers), Luke Miles (CPD Y Fali), Casey Gregg (Bodedern Athletic)
3 – Liam Billington (Amlwch Town), Jac Thomas (Amlwch Town), Sam Gregson (Bodedern Athletic), Sion Jones (Gaerwen), Gwynfor Owen (CPD Cefni), Tom Kelly (Llannerchymedd), Mark Jones (Llannerchymedd), Chris Bennett (Llannerchymedd)


2020/21 Season cancelled – no competition
2019/20 Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 39
2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: