North Wales Coast East League decides on early July start – still no news from West

NFA in action against Denbigh Development during the 2019-20 season. Pic: Roy Gunther

The North Wales Coast East League will kick off their fixtures in early July.

The tier 5 East Division One starts on July 3, while tier 4 East Premier Division will begin a week later on July 10.

The reason for this is Division One now has 16 teams, while the Premier has 14.

Rhyl-based NFA FC, originally members of the Premier, have dropped into Division One due to ground issues.

The 2019-20 Vale of Clwyd and Conwy League Division One champions were due to play at the former Hotpoint ground near Llandudno Junction, which meets tier 4 criteria, but will not be ready in time for the 2021-22 season.

NFA will now continue playing their matches at the Rhyl Leisure Centre outdoor pitch.

The new line-ups for 2021-22 are:

North Wales Coast East Premier Division (14 teams)

Bro Cernyw
CPD Y Rhyl 1879
Glan Conwy
Kinmel Bay
Llandudno Junction
Llandyrnog United
Llanfairfechan Town
Mochdre Sports
Penmaenmawr Phoenix
Prestatyn Sports
Rhuddlan Town

North Wales Coast East Division One (16 teams)

Abergele FC
Caer Clwyd
Denbigh Development
Llandudno Amateurs
Llanelwy Athletic
Machno United
Penrhyn Bay Dragons
Rhos United
Rhyl All Stars
Rhyl Dragons
Y Glannau.

North Wales Coast East chairman Bryan Roberts said: “We wrote to all the East clubs offering them four start dates in July and around three-quarters of them favoured July 3.

“Midweek matches will be played too where the refereeing situation allows.

“This July 3 date is subject to approval by the FAW, but we’re hopeful there won’t be any problems.

“The reason for the early start is we’ve been told there could be a third wave (of coronavirus) between the end of July and mid-August.

“So many clubs have gone without competitive football for a very long time.

“We feel starting on July 3 will at least allow teams to play four or five competitive games to start the ball rolling.

“If we’d left it till September then we might have faced all sorts of difficulties.

“If football isn’t forced to stop (due to Covid-19) and we can carry on, then we plan a two-week break before and after Christmas. However, if there is further disruption, then we won’t have the breaks.”

The North Wales Coast WEST League, which contains 17 teams in its Premier Division and Division One, have yet to release a start date for their fixtures.


The relaunched North East Wales Football League recently announced the Premier Division and Championship will kick off on July 3, with the Reserve League beginning seven days later on July 10.

The league will also stage a Mike Beech Memorial Championship which will start off with groups and run like the champions league with knockout rounds from the last 16.

This will get underway in October with the first knockout round to take place in February.

Mike was secretary of the former North East Wales League which ran successfully for nine years before the Welsh pyramid revamp, which was due to begin last season but never started because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Division line-ups for 2020-21


North East Wales League Premier Division (15 teams)

Acton FC
Brymbo Victoria
Castell Alun
Cefn Mawr Rangers
Chirk Town
Coedpoeth United
FC Queen’s Park
Halkyn & Flint Mountain
Hawarden Rangers
Lex XI
Llangollen Town
Mynydd Isa Spartans
New Brighton Villa
Overton Recreational.


North East Wales League Championship (11 teams)

AFC Bagillt
Borras Park Albion
CPD Bellevue
CPD Caerwys
CPD Sychdyn.
Connah’s Quay Town
Deeside FC
Johnstown YFC
Penyffordd Lions
Railway Rovers
Ruabon Rovers

North East Wales Reserve League (10 teams)

CPD Caerwys
Castell Alun
Cefn Mawr Rangers
Coedpoeth United
FC Queen’s Park
Hawarden Rangers
Llangollen Town
Llay Welfare Colts
Mynydd Isa Spartans
Ruthin Town Colts

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: