Flashback – 20 years ago: Rhyl romp to big win over rivals at Farrar Road

Farrar Road on a busy matchday. Picture: Bangor Comrades, Facebook

Bangor City 0
Rhyl 3 (O’Callaghan 47, Stannard 49, Graves 80)
League of Wales – April 3, 2001

On this date 20 years ago Bangor were well beaten by a visiting Rhyl side despite a goalless first half.

It was the Lilywhites who started the better, creating scoring chances in the first 10 minutes, the best of which fell to Dan Barton, who headed over from eight yards.

City’s first opportunity came when Gary Curtis conceded a corner and lay injured off the pitch. As he received treatment a quickly taken kick was fired narrowly wide of the near post.

On 20 minutes the diminutive Wes Kinney forced a good save from City stopper Paul Evans, then Bangor’s Clive Brown showed good pace and anticipation to intercept Billy O’Callaghan, who had slipped Mark Thomas.

At the other end Rhodri Giggs beat a couple of Rhyl midfielders to shoot just over from 25 yards.

Curtis became the second Lilywhite to be booked for a foul on Steve Cooper before Giggs set up Marc Lloyd Williams but his shot was pushed over by Dave Williams.

Barton headed over again, O’Callaghan was booked before Giggs again brought Williams into action with a good effort from outside the box after good approach play from Aled Rowlands.

Half-time: 0-0

The first half had seen both sides waste chances and Rhyl set about proving that they would not do so again.

Within five minutes O’Callaghan and then John Stannard scored from inside the box to put the visitors 2-0 up.

On the hour Bangor’s Craig Roberts replaced the tiring Paul Sellers, who had performed well before the interval.

Then James Brewerton was booked for a late challenge on Giggs and Paul Roberts was yellow carded for what may have been dissent.

With 10 minutes remaining City’s Craig Roberts hit a powerful shot just wide from 25 yards and that was effectively that for the hosts.

For good measure Rhyl added a third with a wonderful strike from former TNS midfielder Stuart Graves.

Bangor City: Paul Evans, Steve Cooper, Richard Owen, Clive Brown, Mark Thomas, Clayton Blackmore, Marc Lloyd Williams, Aled Rowlands, Paul Roberts, Rhodri Giggs, Paul Sellers. Subs: Sean Hazelden, Jason Anthony, Matthew Bishop.

Rhyl: Dave Williams, Dewi Parry, Gary Curtis, Mark Antrobus, James Brewerton, Mick Jones, John Stannard, Gareth Wilson, Dan Barton, Billy O’Callaghan, Wes Kinney. Substitutes: Andy Jones, Stuart Graves, Steve Jones.

Thanks to Citizens Choice website for match report

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: