Silver jubilee: Remembering Denbigh Town’s unforgettable 1995-96 season

Denbigh Town’s Supporters Club committee of 1995-96. Back row (left to right): Mike Hargraves, Dave Jones, Emyr Lloyd, Clwyd Kelly, Rob Jones, Haydn Williams. Bob Rowlands. Front row: John Williams, Bobbie Hargraves, Delyth Rowlands, Tracey Jones, Ceinwen Rowlands, Robin Roberts.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the first time Denbigh Town Football Club won the Welsh Alliance League title.

After finishing fourth in their debut 1994-95 season in the third-tier league, Bill Dawson’s side hit new heights in 1995-96 by finishing up champions.

The title was secured with a 2-0 victory in Denbigh’s penultimate league game at Connah’s Quay Nomads Reserves before they were presented with the trophy following a 2-2 home draw with Llandyrnog United on May 4, 1996.

All hail the 1995-96 Welsh Alliance champions

Denbigh’s main squad that season was

Nathan Pope
Danny Jellicoe
Mark Lewis
Mike James
John Jones
Craig Kelly
Mike Payne
Shaun Kelly
Graham Hunter
Rob Jones
Vinny Hayes
Peter O’Brien
Lee Hogg
Adie Nixon
Tim Dyer
Gethin Lloyd
Karl Stevens
Ian Clayton
Gareth Williams

While Town got it very much right on the field, they also had a fantastic group of officials and committee members off the park too.

Denbigh Town officials from 1995-96 (left to right): John (The Pictures) Williams (Supporters Club chairman), Dave Jones (press officer), Emyr Lloyd (treasurer), Ken Roberts (chairman), Bob Rowlands (Supporters Club secretary), Gwynfor Lloyd-Jones (president), Bill Dawson (manager), Gareth Jones (secretary), Roy Cook-Hannah (coach).

Sadly some are no longer with us but they will never be forgotten.

Included in the two photographs of the supporters club committee and club officials in this article include:

Mike Hargraves: Very sadly passed away last year. Joint-managed a successful Denbigh Town Reserves side with John Clayton and was a prolific fund-raiser and event organiser for the club.

Emyr Lloyd: Long-serving club treasurer whose son Gethin was in the 1995-96 championship-winning squad. His other sons Dylan, Sion and Aled also played football.

Bob Rowlands: Former police officer who was a tremendous ambassador for the club in his various roles.

John Williams: John “The Pictures” is sadly no longer with us. A very popular, chirpy character heavily involved in Denbigh darts over a number of years. John did fantastic work with the Supporters Club.

Bobbie Hargraves: Wife of Mike, and what a team! After their involvement with the football club was over, they became key figures at Denbigh Rugby Club in the early 2000’s, Bobbie as steward and Mike her able assistant.

Delyth and Tracey: Two great, loyal supporters whose families were also fully involved in the club. Both ladies were major assets to the club in raising funds through raffle-ticket selling etc.

Robin Roberts: Llanrwst man who made Denbigh his home and was much loved. He was a member of the famous Pot Black Snooker Club “front row”, ‘propping’ up the bar along with great friend John “The Pictures”.

Ken Roberts: Served as Denbigh Town chairman for many years. Always great fun at committee meetings and also renowned for his interest in pigeon racing. What a character!

Gwynfor Lloyd Jones: Former club president who passed away in 2014. Very popular figure in the town, probably best known for running the Pot Black Snooker Club.

Gareth Jones: Known as Gagsy Green, a man admired for his administration skills. Key man behind the scenes during the Bill Dawson era, where Denbigh Town became a force again in North Wales football.

Grassroots North Wales will be writing more about this unforgettable season for Denbigh Town as 2021 progresses.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: