Flashback – 10 years ago: Mixed day for Rhyl match-winner Williams

Ryan Davies (light blue) wins a header for Porthmadog. Rhyl’s No 11 Chris Williams scored the decider but was also controversially sent off. Picture: Emyr Gareth

Rhyl 1 (Chris Williams 16)
CPD Porthmadog 0
Cymru Alliance – January 3, 2011

A Chris Williams header 16 minutes into the game separated the two sides at the end of this Cymru Alliance battle played 10 years ago today.

Port must have been kicking themselves they did not get something as they would hardly have landed a better opportunity to pick up points at fortress Belle Vue.

After 36 minutes the goalscorer found himself the centre of a highly controversial decision when he received a straight red card from referee Gareth Wyn Jones for allegedly kicking the ball at the linesman following a disputed decision.

Rhyl were left to play the remainder of the half and the whole of the second with 10 men.

The experienced John Leah and Greg Strong marshalled things at the back, ably supported by full back Rhys Darlington and Porthmadog were restricted to long range efforts which meant that despite having plenty of second half possession Chris Howarth in the home goal was never unduly troubled.

Port had a clear opportunity after only seven minutes when Mike Foster caught the home defence napping with a quickly taken free kick near the left touchline.

Paul Roberts found himself free and behind the home defence. The striker cut inside, but delayed his shot long enough for Howarth to smother.

Soon after the Port defence received a warning when they were caught out by a long ball which led to Chris Williams skewing a shot wide.

After Richard Harvey pulled off a good save at the feet of Mark Cadwallader, Rhyl got their noses in front.

Brad Maylett broke wide on the right and lifted a cross to the back post where Williams raced in to head home from close range.

Just before the half hour there was almost a repeat when Cadwallader delivered from the right but this time Williams’ header was inches over the bar.

Harvey again needed to be alert, tipping over a Russ Courtney header.

The best Port moves started from debutant Gareth Jones Evans, who built up well from midfield.

But the away side had to rely on shots in and around the box. From one of these Darren Gowans cleared the bar and a couple of Marcus Orlik efforts did not seriously test the keeper.

The interval came and 10-man Rhyl were able to reorganise.

Half-time: 1-0

Straight from the restart Paul Roberts produced Port’s best effort on goal. He burst from midfield and let fly a shot from 25 yards which went narrowly the wrong side of the upright.

In an immediate response on the break down the left Mike Pritchard thundered a 20 yard effort which rattled the crossbar.

Then for Port, Jones Evans broke to the edge of the box but his strike drifted wide of the post.

Though Port were applying the pressure on 10-man Rhyl the home side were a threat on the counter and when Cadwallader let fly Harvey produced an excellent save, diving to his left to turn it round the post.

Despite Port possession they were denied any clear cut chances and near the end Rhyl’s John Toner went close from a narrow angle before fellow sub Scott Beckett hit the bar.

The second half was not without its refereeing controversies either.

When Rhys Roberts brought down Maylett the referee, after consulting his liner, waved a yellow card and followed it with a red one.

He was under the impression he had already yellow-carded Rhys. In fact it was Ryan Davies who had previously been cautioned.

A furore followed but eventually the referee was persuaded and withdrew the red card.

Despite the time taken with this incident plus five substitutions the referee only allowed two added minutes!

Rhyl: Chris Howarth, Andy Pearson, Rees Darlington, Russ Courtney, Greg Strong, John Leah, Brad Maylett, Paul Mooney, Mark Cadwallader (Scott Beckett 71), Mike Pritchard (John Toner 86), Chris Williams.

Porthmadog: Richard Harvey, Euron Roberts (Jack Jones 80), Mike Foster (Richie Owen 86), Gareth Jones Evans, Ryan Davies, Rhys Roberts, Jamie McDaid, Dan Pyrs, Paul Roberts, Marcus Orlik, Darren Gowans (Cai Jones 63).

Many thanks to Gareth Williams (Porthmadog) for report and Emyr Gareth (Porthmadog) for photograph

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: