Cymru Premier midweek joy for Druids and Cofis – Darlington joins 100 club

Alex Darlington reached 100 Welsh Premier goals this evening. He is pictured in action versus Haverfordwest on December 12. Picture: Mike Plunkett

Cymru Premier results – Tuesday, December 15

Aberystwyth Town 1 Caernarfon Town 2
Flint Town United 1 Cefn Druids 2
Newtown 0 The New Saints 4
Penybont 1 Cardiff Met University 0

Flint Town United 1 (Richard Foulkes 28)
Cefn Druids 2 (Alex Darlington 51, Iwan Cartwright 68)

Alex Darlington became the 30th and latest player to reach 100 Welsh Premier goals when he netted in Druids’ crucial win at the Essity Stadium tonight.

Formerly with The New Saints, where he won seven league titles, four Welsh Cups and five league cups, the 31-year-old completed a top-flight ton when he headed home a 51st minute corner to draw Druids, who he joined in August, level.

This evening’s win made it back-to-back victories for Cefn and lifted them out of the bottom three.

For Flint’s new manager Neil Gibson it was a disappointing start, especially as they had been the better side in the first half and reached the interval in front.

Ex-Prestatyn boss Gibson must have been pleased with the start the Silkmen made with both Wes Baynes and Ben Maher forcing fine saves from visiting stopper Michael Jones.

The hosts deservedly edged ahead when Richie Foulkes’ shot was deflected home in the 28th minute.

Ton-up hero Darlington. Picture: Cefn Druids FC

Druids were a different team at the start of the second half and were soon back on terms via Darlington.

In the 68th minute the home side conceded from another corner, Iwan Cartwright this time flicking home.

Flint went close to a late equaliser through substitute Andrew Brown’s header, but the Ancients claimed the spoils.

Aberystwyth Town 1 (Marc Williams 89)
Caernarfon Town 2 (Jack Kenny 20, Darren Thomas 44)

Darren Thomas was outstanding for Caernarfon. Picture: Paul Evans CTFC

A third win on the bounce for Caernarfon strengthened their position in the top six and sent Aber into the bottom three.

The hosts flew out of the blocks but the Cofis settled and the first opportunity of the evening fell to them, Darren Thomas volleying over from 15 yards in the seventh minute.

Facing his old club, Thomas’ corner caused problems for the home defence on 14 minutes, ending with Sam Jones’ low effort flying just inches wide.

Thomas was the catalyst for Caernarfon’s opening goal in the 21st minute when he robbed Jamie Veale in midfield and found Mike Hayes, who played a one-two with Paulo Mendes and put Jack Kenny through.

The Cofis’ recent signing from Prestatyn made it two goals in as many games when finished well past the advancing Roberts.

On the stroke of half-time, Thomas’ in-swinging free kick from the left evaded everyone on the way into the far corner of the net.

Once Kenny had seen his penalty effort saved by Roberts four minutes after the restart, the game was much more even.

Nonetheless, it was not until the 89th minute that the blacks and greens managed to reduce the arrears, Marc Williams meeting a corner from the left to nod in from four yards.

It needed two superb injury-time saves from Tibbetts to clinch the points for Caernarfon..

Caernarfon: Josh Tibbetts, Joe Williams, Telor Williams, Mike Parker, Gareth Edwards, Paulo Mendes, Noah Edwards, Sam Jones, Jack Kenny, Darren Thomas, Mike Hayes. Subs (used): Cai Jones, Sion Bradley. Not used: Ryan Williams, Jamie Crowther, Tyler French.

Welsh Premier League all-time goalscorers list (up to December 15, 2020)

1 Marc Lloyd Williams 319
2 Rhys Griffiths 271
3 Lee Hunt 209
4 Michael Wilde 197 *
5 Chris Venables 192 *
6 Chris Summers 177
7 Greg Draper 164 *
8 John Toner 161
9 Graham Evans 157
10 Stuart Rain 150
11 Paul Roberts 147
12 Martin Rose 141
13 Kevin Morrison 140
14 Steve Rogers 132
15 Eifion Williams 131
16 = Ken McKenna 127
16 = Danny Barton 127
16 = Les Davies 127
19 = Mattie Davies 124
19 = Andy Moran 124
21 Paul Evans 122
22 Dave Taylor 118
23 Tommy Mutton 114
24 Gavin Allen 113
25 Luke Bowen 105
26 Frank Mottram 104
27 Glyndwr Hughes 102
28 = Tim Hicks 100
28 = Mark Connolly 100
28 = Alex Darlington 100 *

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: