North Wales Women’s Football League set up with three divisions

Bethel and Connah’s Quay (red) will clash in the Premier Division

Three divisions will make up the North Wales Women’s Football League this season.

Nineteen teams will be split into groups of seven, six and six respectively.

These teams are ranked based on points-per-game over the past 12 months and also performances across the previous year.

The leagues will line up

Premier Division

Llanfair United
Connah’s Quay Nomads
Amlwch Town

Championship East League

Denbigh Town
Northop Hall
Holywell Town
Welshpool Town

Championship West League

Penrhyn Bay
Caernarfon Town
Bangor 1876

The top two teams in the East and West will clash in end-of-season play-offs to determine an overall district leagues champion.

Each team in the Premier will play 12 league games, with East and West 10 apiece.

Smaller divisions have been set up to help teams get all their fixtures finished in what will be a shorter season than usual due to Covid-19.

League games will take priority. Domestic cups can be played for if time allows, but all league matches must be completed first.

As a national knockout competition, the Welsh Cup is a separate entity and will be competed for as per usual based on FAW conference dates.

The aforementioned North Wales format will apply for the 2020-21 women’s football season only. No start date has yet been provided by the FAW.

The 2020-21 season is seen as a form of ‘trial run’ for the 2021-22 campaign, when a pyramid system for women’s football is introduced for the first time.

Tier 1 will comprise the Cymru Premier Women’s League, in which no northern clubs currently compete.

Interest for clubs from the north and central will be centred on tiers 2 and 3.

Tier 2 will be for the more ambitious clubs aiming to eventually enter the national league.

This tier will also run an under-19 development league to help grow sustainability within clubs.

Tier 2 will be run on a similar footing to the men’s Cymru North and Cymru South leagues.

Teams chosen for the North Wales League Premier Division this season are the most likely candidates for Tier 2, but ALL clubs will be eligible to apply for this status.

Tier 3 will cater for clubs looking to play on a more local or recreational basis with smaller North East Wales FA and North Wales Coast FA run divisions available.

Therefore, the leagues set-up for the season ahead will be a useful familiarisation exercise for the NEWFA and NWCFA clubs in preparation for the following campaign.

All that’s needed now is a start date from the Welsh Government/FAW – let’s have it soon please!

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: