Tier 4 and 5 clubs in Wales set to be rocked by new rule banning player payment

Football clubs in tiers 4 and 5 of the new Welsh football pyramid who intend to pay their players this season are likely to land themselves in hot water.

A number of important amendments to FAW rules are being proposed to a Special General Meeting of the national association next Monday, July 27.

Changes suggested include, but are not limited to: Recreational Level of the FAW Pyramid System being classified under Amateur Competitions for Amateur Players only. Professional Players will therefore be excluded from Recreational Level.

The FAW class tiers 4 and 5 as Recreational football.

If the change is implemented, it means a rapid rethink for any of the 100-plus teams in the bottom two tiers intending to use a wages budget in 2020-21.

It is believed the FAW will investigate all clubs who are alleged to pay players by asking them to provide full accounts.

If a club says it pays wages under “expenses”, unless them expenses are documented in accordance with HMRC guidance, the FAW will then categorise them as funding professional players.

That will mean these players have played under the wrong registration and are therefore not registered and ineligible.

The FAW confirmed today that the proposed rule change will go before next Monday’s special meeting.

Both the North East Wales FA and North Wales Coast FA are aware of the proposal, but said they could not comment until the FAW decision was known.

Tiers 4 and 5 2020-21 season


North East Wales League Premier Division (16 teams)
Acton FC, Brymbo Victoria, Castell Alun, Cefn Mawr Rangers, Chirk Town, Coedpoeth United, FC Queen’s Park, Greenfield, Halkyn & Flint Mountain, Hawarden Rangers, Johnstown Youth, Lex XI, Llangollen Town, Mynydd Isa Spartans, New Brighton Villa, Overton Recreational.

North Wales Coast East Premier Division (16 teams)
Bro Cernyw ***, CPD Y Rhyl 1879, Glan Conwy, Kinmel Bay, Llandudno Athletic, Llandudno Junction, Llandyrnog United, Llanfairfechan Town, Llannefydd, Llansannan, Meliden, Mochdre Sports, NFA FC ***, Penmaenmawr Phoenix, Prestatyn Sports, Rhuddlan Town ***
*** = subject to ground criteria work being carried out to the requirements of the NWCFA steering committee

North Wales Coast West Premier Division (16 teams)
CPD Aberffraw, Amlwch Town, Bangor 1876, Bodedern Athletic, Bro Goronwy, Gaerwen, Gwalchmai, Llanberis, Llanrug United, Menai Bridge Tigers, Mynydd Llandegai, Nefyn United, Penrhyndeudraeth, Pentraeth, Pwllheli, Trearddur Bay Bulls.


North East Wales League Championship (12 teams)
AFC Bagillt, CPD Bellevue, Borras Park Albion, CPD Caerwys, Connah’s Quay Town, Deeside FC, Llanfarthin FC, Mold Town United, Penyffordd Lions, Railway Rovers, Ruabon Rovers, CPD Sychdyn.

North Wales Coast East Division One (15 teams)
Abergele FC, Betws-y-Coed, Caer Clwyd, Cerrigydrudion, Denbigh Development, Henllan, Llandudno Amateurs, Llanelwy Athletic, Llysfaen, Machno United, Penrhyn Bay Dragons, Rhos United, Rhyl All Stars, Rhyl Dragons, Y Glannau.

North Wales Coast West Division One (19 teams)
Arriva Bangor, Bethesda Athletic, Bodorgan Juniors, Bontnewydd, Bro Goronwy, Caergybi, Cemaes Bay, CPD Cefni, CPD Y Fali, Glantraeth (appealing to FAW against placing), Holyhead Town, Llandegfan, Llanfairpwll, Llangoed, Llannerchymedd, Llanystumdwy, Mountain Rangers, Talysarn Celts, Waunfawr.


North East Wales (13 teams)
CPD Caerwys, Castell Alun, Cefn Mawr Rangers, Coedpoeth, FC Queen’s Park, Hawarden Rangers, Johnstown Youth, Lex XI, Llangollen Town, Llay Welfare Colts, Mynydd Isa Spartans, Overton Recreational, Ruthin Town Colts.

North Wales Coast
Still under discussion.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: