Big guns return to CPD Llannerchymedd

Matthew Jones returns to Llannerchymedd after four seasons at Llangefni Town. All pictures supplied by CPD Llannerchymedd

The return of several heroes from the past could signal a big change in fortunes for CPD Llannerchymedd this season.

Last season brought a real low point for the Anglesey club after they finished bottom of the Gwynedd League.

The campaign before, Medd came sixth in Welsh Alliance Division Two, but they lost so many key players to other island teams in summer 2019, the club decided to drop into the Gwynedd.

New manager Darren Hughes was left with a group of mainly untried local youngsters who found the going tough.

Hughes recently stepped down, and in the past week several former Llannerchymedd stars have committed themselves to Tan Parc for the 2020-21 season.

They include striker Matthew Jones, who leaves Cymru North club Llangefni Town after four seasons to rejoin Medd, where he has been a prolific marksman over the years.

Jones notched 29 goals for the club in the 2014-15 season and 37 in 2016/17.

He started his career at Bodedern Athletic.

“It was a great learning curve for me moving from Tan Parc to Llangefni Town,” said Jones. “I have nothing but admiration towards the club, staff and fans of Llangefni and hoped I entertained a few along the way and wish them well for the future.

“But I’ve now decided to make the move back home to Llannerchymedd and hope with the experiences I’ve gained will help the Medd back to where they belong, the top end of the league.”

Returning star Gavin Sharpe

Others to commit to Llannerchymedd include two exceptional players, striker Mark Jones and defender Lewis Connor, who won the Anglesey League title with Cemaes Bay last season.

Goalkeeper Kenny Hughes and midfielder Gavin Sharpe have also rejoined Medd, where they enjoyed several trophy successes in the past.

Hughes was at Bodedern last season, while Sharpe played for Gwalchmai in Welsh Alliance Division Two.

Llannerchymedd’s Gwynedd League treble winners of 2013-14. Back row (left to right): Manager Gareth Parry, assistant Darren Williams, captain Gavin Sharpe, Iwan Williams, Dylan Owen, Daniel Thomas, Kenny Hughes, Shaun Jenkins, Dewi Thomas, Shaun Pritchard, chairman Elwyn Hughes. Front (l-r): Cai Grieves, Hari Jones, Andrew Roberts, Patrick Roberts, Matthew Jones, Ryan Jones, Deion Evans, Gary Ponsonby. Pic: JOHN ELFRYN OWEN

Another former Gwalchmai man, Gethin Davies, has switched to Tan Parc as well as Andy Swindells, who returns from a season’s sabbatical.

Llannerchymedd, Gwynedd League champions and treble-winners in 2013-14, spent five seasons in the Welsh Alliance before dropping into the Gwynedd last term.

They will now be aiming to make a big impact in the new-look Welsh pyramid in 2020-21.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: