Cemaes Bay claim inaugural Anglesey League title at first team level

Well done to Anglesey League champions Cemaes Bay. Pictured: Edryd Jones

During their illustrious history Cemaes Bay have played in the Welsh Premier and won the Cymru Alliance and Welsh Alliance League titles.

However, until this season, the Ynys Môn club had never been crowned champions of the sixth tier Anglesey League at first team level.

Back in 1999-2000, Cemaes Bay Reserves did win the island league at a time when the firsts were in the tier-two Cymru Alliance.

But this week saw the School Lane club’s sole senior team named 2019-20 Anglesey League champions on the points-per-game system, which came into being due to the cancellation of the season because of coronavirus.

Bay edged Mountain Rangers into second place by the narrowest of margins – 2.56% to 2.53%.

From 16 matches, Cemaes notched 41 points after suffering just one defeat, while Rangers were also beaten just the once in 15 outings.

Holyhead Hotspur Reserves finished an impressive third, winning 12, drawing three and losing two. They were ahead of Rangers on points, but behind them on the P-P-G method.

Cemaes again owed much to the goal-scoring skills of Steve Whittaker, the iconic front man netting 39 times in all competitions.

Another newly-signed player this season, Andy Williams, scored 19 for the champions with Keenan Downey on 14.

Sam Williams was the stand-out hitman for Rangers, whose return to football after many years absence was highly impressive.

With this due to be the last season of the Anglesey League after 125 proud years of existence, the name of Cemaes Bay as the final winner certainly does the roll of honour proud.

Next season, the Anglesey is due to become part of the new North Coast West Football League.

Cemaes Bay – 2019-20 Anglesey League results
(many goalscorers unavailable on league website)

Aug 9: CPD Y Fali (h) 4-3 (Steven Whittaker 2, Andy Williams 2)
Aug 13: CPD Cefni (a) 3-1 (Whittaker 2, Mathew O’Hara pen)
Aug 16: Holyhead Hotspur Res (h) 2-4 (Chris Byast 2, 1 pen)
Aug 21: Pentraeth (a) 6-2
Aug 23: Holyhead Town Res (h) 20-0
Sep 7: Llanfairpwll (a) 3-0 (Andy Williams 3)
Sep 13: Mountain Rangers (h) 2-2
Oct 11: Pentraeth Reserves (h) 6-0
Oct 18: Arriva Bangor (a) 8-1
Oct 25: Llanfairpwll (h) 8-1
Nov 8: Llandegfan (h) 9-2
Nov 15: CPD Cefni (h) 7-0
Nov 30: Bodorgan Juniors (a) 6-1
Dec 7: Holyhead Hotspur Res (a) 1-1
Jan 25: Llandegfan (a) 11-0
Feb 22: Holyhead Town (a) 2-1
Played 16 Won 13 Drawn 2 Lost 1 GF 98 GA 19 Pts 41

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: