Poll: Prestatyn Town’s first ever Cymru Alliance title winning side voted best

This 2007/08 Prestatyn side was voted best of the club’s three Cymru Alliance title-winning teams by fans

Prestatyn Town followers were asked this week which of their three Cymru Alliance title-winning teams do they consider the best.

The choices were: the 2007-08 stars, the 2016-17 greats or the present 2019-20 winning machines.

After a close-run poll on Twitter, the results were as follows

2007/08 = 39.7

2019-20 = 34.9

2016-17 = 25.4

All three teams were led by Neil Gibson, who this week became the first
manager in history to win the Tier 2 title (Cymru Alliance/Cymru North) three times.


Having finished fourth in their debut season at Cymru Alliance level, the Seasiders were unstoppable the following campaign, topping the table by a 15-point margin.

Prestatyn were very much a squad of local lads, with Steve Bowes, who netted a magnificent 53 goals in his first Tier 2 season, in great form once more.

Ian Griffiths and Jon Fisher-Cooke were also regularly among the goals, while the defence was rock-solid with the likes of Dave Hayes, Jamie Duffy, Andy Davies and Jack Lewis all impressing in front of keeper Jon Hill-Dunt.


The legends of 2016-17

Another stunning effort from Town who this time ended up 16 points clear of nearest challengers Caernarfon.

They won 26 of their 30 matches, amassing 114 goals – the second highest total in league history.

Goals flowed from the likes of Jordan Davies and Jack Kenny, with the rest of the side also regularly chipping in, James Stead and Michael Parker among the consistent net-finders.


The class of 2019-20. Pic: John Pickles

Just like with their first two title wins, the Prestatyn side of this season stormed to the championship, sitting 16 points clear when the campaign was called to a halt early due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Gibson brought some outstanding past players back to the club and it truly paid dividends, with Robbie Hughes, Jordan Davies and Jack Kenny all in magnificent touch in front of goal.

Town became only the second club to win the Cymru Alliance/North on three occasions, matching Caernarfon’s achievement.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: