Flashback to 2011: Katie Bowe delivers a double as Caernarfon win north title

Caernarfon Town Ladies celebrate winning the 2010-11 League Cup. Picture: Tony Mottram (freelance)

Nine years ago today marked a special occasion in the history of Caernarfon Town Ladies Football Club.

On April 24, 2011, the Canaries beat Wrexham 2-0 to secure the Welsh Premier Women’s League North Conference title for the second season in a row, both goals scored by Katie Louise Bowe.

Town went on to face South Conference champions Swansea City in the national final, the Swans winning and progressing to play in the Uefa Champions League.

That season was the second of the Welsh Premier Women’s League, which began in 2009-10 with eight sides.

Founder teams were: Aberystwyth Town, Caernarfon Town, Llanidloes, Manorbier, Newcastle Emlyn, Swansea City, UWIC and Wrexham.

Four north/central teams and an equal number from the south played on a round-robin basis and the group winners met in the final. There was no relegation in the opening season.

The first final was also contested by Swansea and Caernarfon, City winning 4-0.

In 2010-11, the league was increased to five teams per Conference

After winning the North section again, Caernarfon once more clashed with Swansea in the final and lost 3-1, Jordanne Greenough their scorer.

However, it was a great season overall for the Canaries, as they added the Maurice Naylor League Cup to their North Conference title, beating Llandudno Junction 4-1 in the final, Bowe with a hat-trick and Greenough also on target.

Caernarfon also made it to the Welsh Cup final, where they were defeated 3-0 by Swansea.

Town had a very strong squad with the likes of Lexi Musgrave, Jordanne Greenough and Katie Bowe piling on the goals, while the legendary Ceryl Jones and Iona Williams still played for the side, along with quality players such as Alison Mummery, Kim Broadbent and Cerys Gadd.

A very young Gwenno Gibbard, now captain of Bethel, and Hannah Jones, also now with Bethel, were in the Caernarfon side too.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: