Gwynedd and Anglesey Netball League: WaliB’s grab runners-up – but it’s oh so close

Congratulations to runners-up WaliB’s

WaliB’s have finished runners-up in Division Two of the Gwynedd and Anglesey Winter Netball League – but it was a mighty close-run thing in the end.

Involved in an epic battle with a young Tacos team, WaliB’s eventually won just 17-16 to clinch second place in the division by a point from Wnion and Moniars.

WaliB’s trailed 5-6, 6-11 and 10-13 over the first three quarters, but then pulled a rabbit out of a hat to win the last 7-3 and take the match.

Amigos pulled off a fantastic win over champions Llangefni

Champions Llangefni were beaten in their final game by an inspired Amigos, who had won only two of their previous 15 matches.

Results, line-ups and awards – Tuesday, March 10, 2020

Amigos 17-15 Llangefni
(5-1; 11-6; 14-9; 17-15)

Amigos: Arwen Humphreys, Lili Ray, Llio Jones, Alaw Davies Thomas, Nia Jones, Mari Gruffydd, Megan Euros. Subs: Sian Roberts, Glain Tudur.
Llangefni: Cerys Michael, Awel Jones, Cira Williams, Elain Rhun, Ceris Hughes, Lottie Pleasant, Molly Tooze. Subs: Emily Horton, Efa Williams.
Players of the Match
Amigos: Umpires – Mari Gruffydd; Players – Alaw Davies Thomas
Llangefni: Umpires – Awel Jones; Players – Cerys Michael.

Young Tacos pushed league runners-up WaliB’s all the way

WaliB’s 17-16 Tacos
(5-6; 6-11; 10-13; 17-16)

WaliB’s: Karen Parry, Tania Oakshott, Lois Jones, Siwan Jones, Maureen Japp, Lucy Tugwell, Amy Arkle Jones. Subs: Sian Herbert, Anna Jones, Glesni Edwards.
Tacos: Lois Parry, Awel Owen Jones, Cadi Wyn, Erin Rhys, Llanw Jones, Marged Sion, Mari Gwyn. Sub: Ela Haf.
WaliB’s: Umpires and Players – Siwan Jones
Tacos: Umpires and Players – Marged Sion

Moniars 31-16 Subway Warriors
(6-4; 13-6; 22-8; 31-16)

Moniars: Louise Pleasant, Charnjit Grewal, Stacey Bryant, Nell Beaton, Elin Salter, Hattie Pleasant, Cadi Hughes.
Subway Warriors: Elli Brady, Cassie Ogilvy, Ella Roberts, Katie Smart, Helena Bird-Jones, Cet Hughes, Ella Harris. Sub: Debs Jones.
Moniars: Umpires – Hattie Pleasant; Players – Stacey Bryant.
Subway: Umpires – Ella Harris; Players – Cet Hughes

Sombreros 17-18 Mellt Brynrefs
(3-5; 11-9; 14-13; 17-18)

Sombreros: Rhian Owen, Martha Ceiriog, Swyn Edwards, Alaw Davies, Elli Johnstone, Malan Hughes, Ela Davies. Subs: Chloe Griffith.
Mellt: Mali Brookes, Eesha Kishto, Hope Brett, Mared Roberts, Abi Evans, Molly Chisholm, Erin Roberts.
Sombreros: Umpires – Rhian Owen; Players – Malan Hughes.
Mellt: Umpires – Abi Evans; Players – Mared Roberts.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: