Bangor 1876 go nap to reach quarter-final

Cameron Barry (right) scored twice for Bangor 1876 against Llanystumdwy while top-scorer Dylan Summers-Jones (left) did not play in the tie

Bangor 1876 5 (Leon Owens 2, Cameron Barry 2, Shaun Lock)
Llanystumdwy 0
NWCFA Junior Cup round three – February 15, 2020

Bangor 1876 secured a visit to either Nefyn United or Llysfaen in the NWCFA Junior Cup quarter-finals after an eventually comfortable 5-0 win over Llanystumdwy in Saturday’s third round tie at Treborth.

In three previous wins over the same opponents this season, 1876 has amassed an aggregate of 30 goals and none conceded.

Saturday’s fourth meeting of the campaign with Llanystumdwy saw Mel Jones and Dylan Williams’ side without some key players, including Dylan Summers-Jones and Les Davies – a total of 68 goals between them this term – veteran defender Michael Johnston, top centre-back Lee McNulty, plus regular keeper Leon Jones.

And the first half of this tie at a windy and rainy Treborth – one of only three senior matches across North Wales to take place on Saturday – ended goal-less.

After the break the hosts upped the ante and knocked in five goals without reply.

The challenging conditions affected both teams in the opening period, with swirling winds a particular source of difficulty.

Bangor 1876 managed to hit both posts somewhat fortuitously.

On the first occasion, a floated ball into the box from Shaun Lock beat everyone and looked to be heading in before it struck the inside of the post and rolled away to safety. A cross from Leon Owens also hit the opposite upright some minutes later.

However, 1876 needed to remain alert as Llanystumdwy sought to counter attack. On one occasion, an expertly-timed challenge from Harry Jones prevented the away side’s Darren Parry from getting in a shot as he broke into the penalty area.

A key moment in the game arrived six minutes before half-time. With Shaun Lock about to take a throw-in, the referee noticed an incident in the Llanystumdwy penalty area that resulted in the visitors being reduced to 10 men.

The official sent off Mark Godfrey for violent conduct, indicating he had elbowed an opponent.

After a goalless opening period, 1876 returned to the pitch with determination to make their man advantage count and sought to move the ball more rapidly in order to create space.

Their efforts were rewarded within minutes as Leon Owens opened the scoring in the 48th minute with a right footed shot after he turned on the edge of the six yard box.

Six minutes later, 1876 doubled their advantage after an attempted cross from Shaun Lock found its way past the Llanystumdwy keeper and nestled in the top corner.

Midway through the second period, Owens scored his second and 1876’s third with the goal of the game. From 22 yards out, he managed to curl a shot into the top right-hand corner.

In the last 10 minutes, the Gwynedd League leaders added two further goals thanks to Cameron Barry.

With eight minutes left, he turned and finished well from seven yards out after the ball was cut back from the right wing by Luke Steele.

With a minute left, Barry converted from close range after the visitors failed to clear.

Bangor 1876: Daniel Williams, Harry Jones, Shaun Lock, Luke Steele, Cian Williams, Jamie Petrie (c), Cameron Barry, Dafydd Thomas, Leon Owens, Ben Owen, Dylan Williams.
Llanystumdwy: Ben Jones, Gethin Owen, Archie Harris (Ben Coates 75), Emlyn Price, Karl Antoniazzi, Ellis Bryn, Sion Pierce, Dafydd Jones, Morgan Edwards, Mark Godfrey, Darren Parry (Sion Evans 75).

Bangor 1876 league and cup results and stats – 2019-20 season

Feb 15: Llanystumdwy (h – NWCFA Junior Cup R3) 5-0 (Leon Owens 2, Cameron Barry 2, Shaun Lock)
Feb 8: Ogwen Tigers (a – Gwynedd Cup) 13-1 (Davies 3, Petrie 3, Parry 3, Summers-Jones 2, Kieron Bullock OG, Dylan Williams)
Feb 1: Llanystumdwy (a – GL) 11-0 (Summers-Jones 4, Petrie 2, Davies, Lee McNulty, Parry, Leon Owens, Harry Jones)
Jan 25: Menai Bridge Tigers (a – Bob Owen Memorial Shield) 5-1 (Cian Williams, Summers-Jones, Davies 2, Petrie)
Jan 18: Bethesda Ath (a – GL) 10-2 (Petrie 4, 1 pen, Dafydd Thomas 2, Cameron Barry, Cian Williams, Summers-Jones, Matt Lock)
Jan 11: Ogwen Tigers (h – GL) 7-0 (Parry 4, Summers-Jones 2, Lundstram)
Jan 6: Waunfawr (h – GL) 4-0 (Cian Williams, Davies, Summers-Jones, Sion Parry)
Jan 4: Glantraeth (a – GL) 4-0 (Johnston, Summers-Jones, Petrie, Ben Owen)
Dec 30: Bontnewydd (h – GL) 13-2 (Matt Lock, Summers-Jones 5, Davies 3, Petrie, Cameron Barry, Luke Steele, Lundstram)
Dec 21: Llanystumdwy (h – GL) 6-0 (Lundstram, Johnston, Shaun Lock, Petrie, Summers-Jones, 1 OG)
Dec 14: Caergybi (a – GL 6-0 (Cian Williams, Petrie 2, Lundstram, Summers-Jones 2)
Dec 7: Trearddur Bay Bulls (a – GL) 2-1 (Summers-Jones 2)
Nov 30: Llanfairfechan Town (h – NWCFA Junior Cup R2) 4-1 (Dylan Williams, Summers-Jones 2, Petrie) aet
Nov 16: Llanystumdwy (Bob Owen Memorial Shield) 13-0 (Petrie 3, Summers-Jones 3, Davies 2, Dylan Williams, Shaun Lock, Michael Johnston, Cian Williams, Luke Steele)
Nov 9: Ruthin Town (h – Welsh Cup R2) 0-2
Nov 2: Llanrwst United (a – FAW Trophy R3) 1-4 (Lundstram)
Oct 19: Penycae (a – WC R1) 3-3 (Petrie 2 pens, Matt Lock) aet – won 3-2 pens
Oct 15: Bethesda Ath (h – GL) 14-0 (Petrie 5, Summers-Jones 3, Davies 2, Dion Jones 2, Cian Williams, Cameron Barry)
Oct 12: Llanelwy Athletic (a – NWCFA Junior Cup) 3-1 (Dylan Williams, Luke Steele, Lundstram)
Oct 8: Llannerchymedd (h – GL) 12-0 (Summers-Jones 4, Petrie 3, Davies 2, Jos Lloyd-Jones 2, Dafydd Thomas)
Sep 28: Penrhyndeudraeth (h – WC QR2) 6-2 (Davies 4, Summers-Jones 2)
Sep 21: Talysarn Celts (a – GL) 4-2 (Dylan Williams, Davies, Petrie 2, 1 pen)
Sep 14: Pwllheli (h – FAW Trophy) 3-1 (Jos Lloyd-Jones 2, Cameron Barry)
Aug 31: Llandudno Athletic (h – WC) 4-1 (Petrie pen, Cameron Barry, Cian Williams, Summers-Jones)
Aug 26: Llangoed (a – GL) 5-0 (Petrie 3, 1 pen, Davies, Leon Owens)
Aug 24: Nefyn United (h – GL) 3-1 (Petrie 2, 1 pen, Les Davies)
Aug 19: Caergybi (h – GL) 10-0 (Summers-Jones 3, Jos Lloyd-Jones 2, Petrie 2, Cian Williams, Cameron Barry, Leon Owens)
Aug 17: Sychdyn (h – FAW Trophy) 5-1 (Summers-Jones 3, Petrie 2 pens)
Aug 10: Ogwen Tigers (a – GL) 4-1 (Dylan Summers-Jones 2, Jamie Petrie, Benn Lundstram)

Match record
League: P 16 W 16 D 0 L 0 GF 115 GA 9
Cup: P 13 W 11 D 0 L 2 GF 65 GA 18

Goalscorers (180 goals scored in 29 matches)
45 – Dylan Summers-Jones
42 – Jamie Petrie
23 – Les Davies
9 – Sion Parry
8 – Cian Williams, Cameron Barry
7 – Benn Lundstram
6 – Jos Lloyd-Jones
5 – Dylan Williams, Leon Owens
3 – Michael Johnston, Dafydd Thomas, Matt Lock, Luke Steele, Shaun Lock
2 – Dion Jones, 2 OG
1 – Lee McNulty, Harry Jones, Ben Owen

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: