Skip to toolbar

Netball: Two players short, but Pwllheli Subway Warriors still win!

The famous five who led Pwllheli Subway Warriors to victory

Five-player Pwllheli Subway Warriors stole all the headlines as they claimed a thrilling one-goal victory over Amigos despite having two less bodies on court.

Tuesday night’s Gwynedd and Anglesey Winter Netball League Division Two battle saw Subway only have Ellie Brady, Heidi Bakewell, Helena B Jones, Cet Hughes and Ella Harris on call.

Despite this, the Llyn Peninsula side led 6-2 after the first quarter, but were just 11-10 ahead at half time and by the end of quarter three, Amigos were 17-14 to the good.

But in the last, Pwllheli somehow found the strength and energy to finish up 19-18 winners.

It was equally close between Moniars and Mellt Brynrefs.

Level at 10-10 by the midway stage, Mellt were 13-12 up entering the final quarter, but Moniars managed to turn the tables to edge an 18-17 win.

Llangefni were much more convincing victors against Tacos, the Anglesey side taking the honours 23-11, while Wnion produced a strong last session to pull clear of WalisB’s and finish 23-16 winners.

Gwynedd and Anglesey Netball League Division Two results, line-ups and awards – Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Wnion 23-16 WaliB’s
(6-6; 10-8; 14-11; 23-16)

Wnion: Ffion Gittins, Sioned Wyn Jones, India Clackson, Llio Emlyn Roberts, Donna Williams, Llio Parry, Janice Phipps-Owen.
WaliB’s: Karen Parry, Glesni Edwards, Lois Jones, Elen Jones, Maureen Japp, Lucy Tugwell, Amy Arkle Jones. Subs: Mererid Llwyd, Siwan Jones.
Players of the Match
Wnion: Umpires and Players – Sioned Wyn Jones.
WaliB’s: Umpires and Players – Elen Jones.

Llangefni’s happy winning crew

Llangefni 23-11 Tacos
(4-4; 10-6; 16-9; 23-11)

Llangefni: Cerys Michael, Cira Williams, Elain Rhun, Reaghan Smith, Ceris Hughes, Lottie Pleasant, Molly Tooze. Sub: Efa Williams.
Tacos: Lois Parry, Awel Owen Jones, Cadi Jones, Erin Jones, Mari Gwyn, Marged Sion, Luned Eryl. Subs: Ela Haf, Elin Mai Williams, Llanw Jones.
Llangefni: Umpires – Reaghan Smith; Players – Cerys Michael.
Tacos: Umpires – Mari Gwyn; Players – Awel Owen Jones.

Amigos 18-19 Pwllheli
(2-6; 10-11; 17-14; 18-19)

Amigos: Arwen Humphreys, Lili Ray, Llio Jones, Alaw Davies Thomas, Nia Glyn Jones, Mari Griffith, Megan Euros. Subs: Sian Roberts, Glain Tudur.
Pwllheli: Ellie Brady, Heidi Bakewell, Helena B Jones, Cet Hughes, Ella Harris.
Amigos: Umpires – Lili Ray; Players – Megan Euros
Pwllheli: Umpires – Ella Harris; Players – Cet Hughes.

Magic Moniars edged a one-goal victory

Moniars 18-17 Mellt Brynrefs
(6-3; 10-10; 12-13; 18-17)

Moniars: Louise Pleasant, Elin Barwick, Ela Evans, Nell Beaton, Georgi Eaton, Ffion Roberts, Cerys Parry.
Mellt: Eesha Kishto, Non Redvers-Jones, Mali Brookes, Mared Roberts, Abi Evans, Molly Chisholm, Elin Gruffydd. Subs: Llio Roberts, Hope Brett.
Moniars: Umpires – Cerys Parry; Players – Elin Barwick
Mellt: Umpires – Mared Roberts; Players – Eesha Kishto.

You may have missed

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: