Gwynedd League: Great wins for Bethesda, Nefyn and Llangoed, while 1876 make it 16 victories on the bounce in 11-goal rout

Bontnewydd (maroon) and Llangoed battle it out in the Gwynedd League. Picture: Richard Gregson

Bangor 1876 reached double figures in the Gwynedd League for the sixth time this season as they romped to an 11-0 triumph at Llanystumdwy to make it 16 straight wins.

Mel Jones and Dylan Williams’ side now lead the table by 10 points and having bagged a total of 115 league goals are now averaging over seven per game.

The Treborth outfit dished out a third thrashing of the campaign to Llanystumdwy, having previously defeated them 6-0 at home in the league and 13-0 in the Bob Owen Memorial Shield.

Dylan Summers-Jones struck four times for the visitors to make it 43 goals this season and he has now netted in 11 successive games, scoring 20 times in that period.

Jamie Petrie moved up to 40 goals this term for the fan-owned club with a double, while also on the scoresheet were Les Davieswith his 20th of the campaign – new signing Lee McNulty, Sion Parry, Leon Owens and Harry Jones.

Nefyn United chalked up a mightily impressive 5-0 success at rejuvenated Glantraeth, Carl Jones striking twice, while Tomos Llewelyn Jones, Steve Jones and Dylan Sion Jones added one apiece.

Trearddur Bay’s Craig Moore got no change from Talysarn’s big defenders (green and white). Picture: Wynne Evans

Second-place Trearddur Bay Bulls were held 0-0 at home by Talysarn Celts, thus failing to avenge a 3-1 away loss to the same opposition last month.

Bethesda Athletic recorded their best win of the season as they pipped Bro Goronwy 2-1 at Parc Meurig.

Gavin Pritchard and Andy Clarke notched the vital goals for Pesda, Jac Thomas on the mark for Bro.

Menai Bridge Tigers edged a 3-2 thriller against Caergybi, Richard Evans and Dave Baston (2) the home hitmen, Nik Kontodios (2, 1 pen) running the visitors, who put up a fantastic effort, really close.

Man of the match Wayne Thomas (2), Arwyn Thomas (pen) and Matty Owen ensured Llangoed recovered from two-down to defeat Bontnewydd 4-2. Aled Steele and Mathew Roberts (pen) initially put the hosts in control.

Waunfawr whipped hosts Llannerchymedd 8-2, Osian Glyn (2), Rhodri Owen (2), Adam Lloyd (2), Meurig Parry and Shaun Roberts leading the Beganifs to victory, Shaun Pritchard and Marc Thomas replying for the Anglesey side.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: