North West Wales Netball League: A night to celebrate for Llandudno club

Llandudno Blazers are beaming after their first win in Division Two

It was a night to celebrate for the Llandudno club this week in the North West Wales Netball League.

Division One saw the Jets take on St Asaph Thunder.

In what was set to be a well-matched game after quarter one, Jets increased the lead to 23-12 by half time.

The gap proved too much for St Asaph in the end, but it was a great effort by them.

With Jo Leon of the Jets attacking circle and Caroline Baker of Thunder’s defence both taking POM it proved a hard-fought circle battle between the two.

There was joy for Llandudno Blazers in Division Two as they took home the elusive win they had been seeking all season.

It was tied 9-9 after quarter one and looked all to play for. Blazers moved in front in the second and boosted that lead in the third.

In the fourth quarter Menai were clawing it back and managed to narrow the gap to four, but it just wasn’t to be. A very exciting game full of energy and determination by both teams.

Division Three saw Llandudno Tornadoes come away victorious in a very interesting match against Bangor Uni.

After quarter one, Tornadoes were 13-0 up – a score most teams would worry about. Not Bangor though! The uni squad pulled some magic out of the bag to have a wonderful second quarter by bringing the scoreline much closer at 10-16. Third quarter it was Llandudno again who came out on top to be 26-17 ahead entering the last.

Bangor put every ounce they had into the last session, winning it 8-3, the Tornadoes just about blew away with it with a final score of 29-25.

North West Wales Winter Netball League results, line-ups and awards – Monday, January 20

Division One

Rhyl’s player of the match Ruth Bateman

Rhyl 43-19 Abergele Aces
(8-7; 18-10; 30-17; 43-19)

Rhyl: Anneka O’Connor, Ruth Bateman, Hannah Ellis, Lucy Edwards, Zoe Kelly, Sophie Edwards, Roxy Harris. Sub: Lauren Beadle.
Abergele: Hollie Collins, Ceri Jones, Ellen Deir, Mitzi Tilston, Sara Beesley, Jade Wilcockson, Amie Hibbert, Kris Henry.
Rhyl: Ruth Bateman
Abergele: Hollie Collins

Abergele Aces

Llandudno Jets 40-21 St Asaph Thunder
(11-8; 23-12; 31-17; 40-21)

Jets: Jo Leon, Geraldine Vaughan-Jones, Alis Francis, Lucy Moran, Bethan Coleman, Sian Roberts, Alex Jones. Subs: Elaine Williams, Sioned Coleman.
Thunder: Beth Davies, Megan Shutt, Katie Blackmore, Kat Williams, Faye Williams, Caroline Baker, Ema Hughes.

Jets: Jo Leon
Thunder: Caroline Baker

Division Two

Holyhead 32-37 Thundercats
(12-7; 22-16; 30-26; 32-37)

Holyhead: Ceri Williams, Sophie Begley, Katie Humphreys, Natasha Roberts, Sophie Williams, Becky Lloyd, Xena Dimitri.
Thundercats: Deanna Craven, Allison Williams, Lucy Savage, Flick Smith, Hope Brett, Anna Selick, Hannah Nicholls. Subs: Gwenno Pritchard, Anya Jones.
Holyhead: Natasha Roberts
Thundercats: Flick Smith

Flick Smith (left) and Natasha Roberts, players of the match for Thundercats and Holyhead respectively

Menai Thunder 35-39 Llandudno Blazers
(9-9; 16-19; 23-29; 35-39)

Thunder: Eesha Kishto, Jessie Jones, Abi Evans, Freya Evans, Vicky Wells, Chantelle Parker, Steph Yau-Jones. Sub: Claire Billing.
Blazers: Emilia Jones, Bethan Lees, Kiah Williams, Beth Tapping, Maizy Carey, Meghan Carey, Amelie Connolly. Subs: Izzy Williams, Emma Weir.
Thunder: Jessie Jones
Blazers: Bethan Lees

Division Three

Conwy Storm

Conwy Storm 44-23 Thunderkittens
(9-4; 18-11; 33-18; 44-23)

Storm: Leanne Kingsley-Jones, Georgina Roberts, Yvonne Unstead, Jade Evans, Jane Jones, Shona Culwick, Lisa Wilkins. Sub: Sue Ellen Jenson.
Thunderkittens: Cerys Michael, Awel Jones, Efa Williams, Siwan Jones, Cerys Davies, Lottie Pleasant, Ella Griffiths. Subs: Ela Evans, Elain Rhun, Louise Pleasant.
Storm: Leanne Kingsley-Jones
Thunderkittens: Louise Pleasant

Conwy Storm POM Leanne Kingsley-Jones

Bangor Uni 25-29 Llandudno Tornadoes
(0-13; 10-16; 17-26; 25-29)

Uni: Millie Pringle, Josie Yelland, Olivia Chambers, Cat Elson, Sophie Roots, Emma Stone, Natalia Ehenule. Subs: Georgina Pell, Georgina Kelly.
Tornadoes: Ffion Anthony, Olivia Jones, Ceri Watson, Loren Bloxham, Nicol Siecinska, Paige Kemp, Ema Jones. Subs: Sophie Jones, Alys Lees.
Uni: Georgina Pell
Tornados: Loren Bloxham

Two newly-qualified umpires passed their C award test on Monday night. Congratulations to Steffi Fishwick (left) and Holly Williams.

St Asaph Strikes 45-20 Craig-y-Don
(9-7; 21-12; 33-15; 45-20)

Strikes: Courtney Roberts, Leanne Mather, Nic Davies, Joy Jamieson, Theresa Parry, Debbie Magistro, Leanne Duncalf.
Craig-y-Don: Lorna Fielding, Ellen Hughes, Paris Williams, Adele Hughes, Rhian Kennedy, Collette Murphy, Sarah Higham.
Strikes: Courtney Roberts
Craig-y-Don: Paris Williams

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: