The future of North Wales football – so, where do we go from here?

What happens to the likes of long-serving tier three clubs such as Llanrug (pictured here in light green) next season? Picture: Wynne Evans

Fifty-four clubs have applied for Tier 2 certification for the 2020-21 football season.

In addition to the existing 33 JD Cymru North and South clubs, 21 Tier 3 clubs – covering Welsh Alliance, Welsh National (Wrexham Area), Mid Wales and Welsh League Division Two – want to play at a higher level.

FAW Tier 2 Certification is a prerequisite for participation in the JD Cymru North and / or South.

All clubs are assessed on Infrastructure, Personnel and Legal criteria.

Full list of Tier 2 applicants (54 clubs)

Current Tier 2 (33)

JD Cymru North (17 clubs)
Bangor City, Buckley Town, Colwyn Bay, Conwy Borough, Corwen, Flint Town United, Gresford Athletic, Guilsfield, Llandudno, Llanfair United, Llangefni Town, Llanrhaeadr, Penrhyncoch, Porthmadog, Prestatyn Town, Rhyl, Ruthin Town.
JD Cymru South (16 clubs)
Afan Lido, Ammanford AFC, Briton Ferry, Caerau Ely, Cambrian & Clydach, Cwmamman United, Cwmbran Celtic, Goytre United, Haverfordwest County, Llanelli Town, Llantwit Major, Pontypridd Town, Swansea University, STM Sports, Taffs Well, Undy Athletic.

Current Tier 3 who have applied for Tier 2 (21)

Welsh National League (4 clubs)
Brymbo, FC Queen’s Park, Holywell Town, Mold Alexandra.
Welsh Alliance League (3 clubs)
Denbigh Town, Holyhead Hotspur, Llandudno Albion.
Mid Wales League (4 clubs)
Berriew, Caersws, Llandrindod Wells, Llanidloes.
Welsh League Division Two (10 clubs)
Caldicot Town, Croesyceiliog, Garden Village, Goytre, Penydarren BGC, Pontardawe Town, Port Talbot Town, Risca United, Ton Pentre, Trefelin.

What about Tier 3 from next season?

Meanwhile, 93 clubs have applied for FAW Tier 3 Certification for the 2020/21 season. This qualification is a prerequisite for participation at Tier 3 of the Welsh football pyramid from the start of next season.
A total of 54 applications have been received from existing Tier 3 clubs including; 15 from the Welsh Football League, 14 Mid Wales League, 11 Welsh Alliance League and 14 Welsh National League.
In addition, 30 applications have been received from Tier 4 clubs and 9 Tier 5 clubs wishing to be considered. The FAW will inspect these grounds in the coming weeks.
All applicants are assessed on infrastructure criteria and will have until April 30, 2020 to meet the requirements.

Tier 3 applicants list (93 clubs)

Current Tier 3 applying to stay in Tier 3 – some have also applied for Tier 2 (54)

Welsh National League (14)
Brickfield Rangers, Brymbo, Cefn Albion, Chirk AAA, Holywell Town, Llay Welfare, Llanuwchllyn, Mold Alex, Penycae, Queen’s Park, Rhos Aelwyd, Rhostyllen, Rhydymwyn, Saltney Town.
Welsh Alliance League (11)
Blaenau Amateurs, Bodedern Athletic, Denbigh Town, Greenfield, Holyhead Hotspur, Llandudno Albion, Llanrwst United, Mynydd Llandegai, Nantlle Vale, Penrhyndeudraeth, St Asaph City.
Welsh Football League (15)
AFC Llwydcoed, Aberbargoed Buds, Abergavenny Town, Caldicot Town, Croesyceiliog, Dinas Powys, Garden Village, Goytre, Monmouth Town, Penydarren BGC, Pontardawe Town, Port Talbot Town, Risca United, Ton Pentre, Trefelin BGC.
Mid Wales League (14)
Aberaeron, Bow Street, Caersws, Carno, Berriew, Four Crosses, Kerry, Llansantffraid, Llandrindod Wells, Llanidloes, Montgomery Town, Radnor Valley, Tywyn Bryncrug, Welshpool Town.

Current Tier 4 applying for Tier 3 (30)

Welsh Alliance League Division Two (7)
Aberffraw, Barmouth & Dyffryn, Y Felinheli, Llandudno Amateurs, Llannefydd, Pwllheli, Penmaenmawr Phoenix.
Welsh National League Division One (2)
Lex XI, Llangollen Town.
Welsh Football League (15)
Aberdare Town, AFC Porth, Abertillery Bluebirds, Chepstow Town, Newport City, Panteg, Penrhiwceiber Rangers, Pontyclun, Tredegar Town, Treharris Athletic Western, Treowen Stars, Trethomas Bluebirds, Ynyshir Albions, Ynysygerwn, West End.
Mid Wales League (6)
Borth United, Dolgellau, Machynlleth, Newbridge on Wye, Penparcau, Rhayader Town.

Current Tier 5 applying for Tier 3 (9 clubs)

Glantraeth (currently Gwynedd League)
Nefyn United (currently Gwynedd League)
Abertillery Excelsiors, Baglan Dragons, Blaenavon Blues, Canton Liberal, Cardiff Draconians, Pencoed Athletic, Porthcawl Town Athletic

Among those questions that need answering………….

What will the new Tier 3 leagues be called and how will they be split?

What happens to the clubs in the current lower tiers of North Wales football next season? Those in the Vale of Clwyd and Conwy League, Gwynedd League, North East Wales League and Anglesey League?

Area Associations will be responsible for the structure of Tiers 4 and below next season.

The FAW are responsible for Tiers 1-3.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: