NEWFA Challenge Cup: Littler pair ensures Buckley knock out holders Druids

Connor Littler (red) scores Buckley’s opener. Pic: Trevor Jones Photography

Cefn Druids 0
Buckley Town 2 (Littler 2)
NEWFA Challenge Cup quarter-final

Record nine-times NEWFA Challenge Cup winners Buckley advanced to the semi-finals of this season’s competition at the expense of holders Druids.

Cymru Premier hosts Cefn played a mixture of youth and experienced players, but it was the Cymru North visitors who emerged victorious at The Rock thanks to two goals from Connor Littler.

The first half started at fast pace with both teams contesting control of the middle of the pitch.

On nine minutes Buckley hit a shot on target, the Druids goalkeeper failed to punch clear and Littler swept the ball into the back of the net.

Connor Littler makes it 2-0 to Buckley. Pic: Trevor Jones Photography

The second half saw a number of substitutions by both sides. With Buckley winning most second balls they were able to maintain possession and create a number of chances.

On 57 minutes, after a move of eight passes, a delivery into the box saw Littler secure his second goal of the game.

Buckley man of the match Josh Jones rises for the ball. Pic: Nic Johnston

With 10 minutes to go, Druids had a excellent opportunity to claw back a goal but failed to convert.

In the closing stages, Bucks missed two chances to put the tie totally out of sight.

Buckley: Joe Makaruk, Luke Blizard, Dylan Roberts, Lewis Cunliffe, Callum Humphries, Lewis Hone, Aron Williams, Joshua Jones, Connor Littler, Keiron Moore, Sam Spridgeon. Subs: Rhys Hewitt, Aled Bellis, Jake Roberts.

Other quarter-final ties to be played

Flint Town United v Plas Madoc
Mold Alexandra v Brymbo
Ruthin Town v Gresford Athletic

Buckley’s Aron Williams (red) battles for the ball against Druids. Pic: Nic Johnston


1969-70 Brymbo SW
1970-71 Brymbo SW
1971-72 Bala Town
1972-73 Gresford Athletic
1973-74 Llangollen
1974-75 Buckley Rovers
1975-76 Rhosddu
1976-77 Llay Welfare
1977-78 Cefn Albion
1978-79 Sunblest United
1979-80 Buckley Town
1980-81 Buckley Town
1981-82 Brymbo SW
1982-83 Brymbo SW
1983-84 Llay RBL
1984-85 Brymbo SW
1985-86 Mold Alex
1986-87 Mold Alex
1987-88 Mold Alex
1988-89 Lex Xl
1989-90 Llay RBL
1990-91 Lex Xl
1991-92 Gresford Athletic
1992-93 Cefn Druids
1993-94 Wrexham AFC
1994-95 Wrexham AFC
1995-96 Brymbo
1996-97 Rhostyllen Villa
1997-98 Wrexham AFC
1998-99 Flexsys Cefn Druids
1999-2000 Oswestry Town
2000-01 Buckley Town
2001-02 Buckley Town
2002-03 Buckley Town
2003-04 Bala Town
2004-05 Buckley Town
2005-06 Buckley Town
2006-07 Bala Town
2007-08 Bala Town
2008-09 Lex Xl
2009-10 Buckley Town
2010-11 Rhos Aelwyd
2011-12 Cefn Druids
2012-13 Buckley Town
2013-14 Cefn Druids
2014-15 Mold Alexandra
2015-16 Cefn Druids
2016-17 Gresford Athletic
2017-18 Ruthin Town
2018-19 Cefn Druids


9 – Buckley Town

6 – Brymbo, Cefn Druids

4 – Bala Town, Mold Alexandra

3 – Wrexham, Lex XI, Gresford Athletic

2 – Llay RBL

1 – Ruthin Town, Rhos Aelwyd, Llangollen, Llay Welfare, Buckley Rovers, Rhosddu, Cefn Albion, Sunblest United, Rhostyllen Villa, Oswestry Town.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: