NWCFA Junior Cup: Abergele beat Rhuddlan 11-10 on pens after 7-7 draw! Nefyn hit 10, holders edge through

Llangoed celebrate their winner at Llandudno Athletic. Picture: Richard Gregson

What must rank as one of the most remarkable NWCFA Junior Cup ties ever saw Abergele knock out Rhuddlan Town 11-10 on penalties following a 7-7 draw after extra time.

This all-Vale of Clwyd and Conwy Premier Division tie between the league’s top two sides, saw Rhuddlan lead 4-1 at half time, only for Gele to square it at 4-4 by the 90-minute mark.

In extra time, Town led 6-4, but still the visitors refused to lie down and forced a 7-7 split. Then followed a torturous shoot-out before Gele finally prevailed after 21 spot-kicks.

In the match itself, Matty Rees and Jay Whitehouse both nabbed hat-tricks for Rhuddlan, Connor Bucknall adding a single, while for Abergele, Jack Hoult (3), Kane Williams, Liam Roberts, Jack Lloyd and a Callum Roberts own goal provided their total.

Holders Bro Goronwy had Ryan Jones’ perfectly-flighted chip to thank for a narrow 1-0 away victory at Cerrigydrudion which put the Anglesey side into the last 16.

Bangor 1876 and Llanfairfechan (red and black) do battle. Picture: Andre Pepper, eventphotowales

Bangor 1876 needed extra time to see off the brave challenge of Llanfairfechan Town 4-1 at Treborth.

Dylan Williams gave Gwynedd League hosts 1876 an early lead before Sion Devereux levelled with a 56th minute header.

No further goals in the 90, so an added half-hour was needed, during which Dylan Summers-Jones (2) and Jamie Petrie sealed a home win.

Femi Allison hit four as Rhos United romped to an 8-1 victory at Henllan, Chris King, Thomas Brady, Tom Edgley and Lewis Sealey adding one apiece, while a single goal from David Thomas was enough to secure Llangoed a 1-0 verdict at Llandudno Athletic.

Record eight-time cup winners Menai Bridge Tigers eased to an 8-1 success at Rhyl All Stars, Mitchell Jones (3), Kelvin Frazer (2) Tom Parry, Callum Davidson and Dale Owens sharing the goals-fest.

Talysarn Celts whipped fellow Gwynedd League side Bontnewydd 8-3, man of the match Peter Bridges (2), Glyn Tomos (2), Rhodri Jones, Gavin Davies, Luke Baum and Jac Pearce the home hitmen.

Trearddur Bay Bulls striker Gwynfor Owen challenges for the ball against Meliden. Picture: Wynne Evans

Trearddur Bay Bulls saw off Meliden 4-0, Justin Williams (2), Gwynfor Owen and Matty Roberts splitting the goals for the Gwynedd League leaders.

Llysfaen outscored Llanfairpwll 3-1 as Vale of Clwyd and Conwy Division One hosted Anglesey League.

Sean Sheridan opened the scoring after eight minutes before Reece Kearney doubled the lead on 40.

Llanfair struck back close to half time before Llysfaen restored a two-goal lead, with Sheridan finding the net again after 53 minutes.

Sheridan was off shortly after receiving his second yellow, but Llysfaen were comfortable seeing out the last half-hour a man down.

Sam Williams put away five as Mountain Rangers thrashed Llandegfan 6-2, Terry Watkinson also on target.

And the 2017-18 winners Nefyn United were in ruthless form as they triumphed 10-0 on the road at Anglesey League Valley.

Defensive giant John Gwynfor Jones stood in between the posts for the Penwaig and was impeccable in keeping a clean sheet.

Scorers for the Gwynedd League visitors were: Dylan Sion Jones (4), joint player-manager Carl Jones (3), Guto Sion, Daniel Roberts and Iolo Jones.

Postponed: Denbigh Development v Arriva Bangor (now at Bangor, Dec 7), Llannerchymedd v Llandudno Amateurs Reserves, Llanystumdwy v Bethesda Athletic (Bethesda could not raise a team).
Already played: Llansannan 3 Bro Cernyw 0.
To be played: NFA v Caergybi (Dec 7).

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: