Best of Rest: News from Gwynedd, Vale of Clwyd and Conwy, North East Wales and Anglesey leagues

Thrilling action from Trearddur Bay Bulls v Bethesda Athletic (green). Photo: Wynne Evans


After back-to-back cup losses against high-level opposition Bangor 1876 returned to winning form in some style with a 13-0 hammering of Llanystumdwy in the Gwynedd League Bob Owen Memorial Trophy.

Jamie Petrie and Dylan Summers-Jones both notched hat-tricks, Les Davies delivered a double and there were singles for Dylan Williams, Shaun Lock, Michael Johnston, Cian Williams and Luke Steele.

Glantraeth swept aside Bontnewydd 9-2, Brad Bland (5), Dillon Roberts, Morgan Rowlands, Rhys Griffiths and Iwan Kirkham sharing the home total. Cai Penny Williams and Josh Williams were the Bont hitmen.

Trearddur Bay Bulls eliminated Bethesda Athletic 3-1, Justin Williams (2) and Tom Hadley for the home side, Shaun Morris responding.

Menai Bridge Tigers v Talysarn Celts was postponed.

In the Gwynedd League, revenge was sweet as Ogwen Tigers won 4-2 away to a Llangoed side they lost 5-1 to at home seven days earlier.

Tomos Eames, Leon Owen, Kyle Hartleb and Kieron Bullock netted for the visitors, Wayne Thomas and Guy Hughes (pen) for the hosts.

Bro Goronwy caned Llannerchymedd 6-0, Jordan Edney (2), Jac Thomas, Aaron Heald, Jorge Silva and Gareth Jones splitting the haul.


Llanfairfechan Town first team beat Abergele in the President’s Cup

Rhuddlan Town returned to the Premier Division summit courtesy of an 8-0 home caning of bottom side Rhos United.

Jay Whitehouse led the charge for Wayne Hughes’ side with four goals – including a hat-trick in the opening 20 minutes.

Matty Rees (2), Josh Parry and Ollie Saxton completed the rout in the only league match to take place on Saturday.

In the President’s Cup second round, Llysfaen caused an upset with a 2-1 win over Bro Cernyw.

The Division One hosts trailed to Osian Roberts’ 13th minute opener, but the Premier Division visitors were pegged back to 1-1 when James Fallas equalised on 69, then Ashley Holden’s unusual 87th minute winner secured the giant-killing.

A fuller report on this tie, plus reaction, is available elsewhere on Grassroots North Wales.

Llanfairfechan Town outscored Abergele 4-2 in a corker, Curtis Murray, Ellis Jones, Ryan Lewis and Robin Roberts for the hosts, Liam Roberts and Connor Atkinson replying.

Ste Kirk hit five as Llanelwy Athletic pulverised Machno United 12-1, Rob Brown adding four, Danny Gizzi two and Kevin Rickard a single, Harry Kirkham with a sole away response.

Nathan Williams (4) and Lee Stokes (2) guided Llandudno Athletic to a 6-1 drubbing of Betws-y-Coed, Paul Rattenbury with the visitors’ consolation.

Gethin Vaughan (2) and Geraint Jones led Llansannan to a 3-1 success against Y Glannau, Kyle Hulme hitting back.

Llandudno Amateurs Reserves pipped Llanfairfechan Town Reserves 5-4.

Stan Farrell, Joel Massam, Sean Sharp, Morgan Davies and an own goal made up the winners’ total, Antony Gustafson, Harry Croston, Elliot Croston and Ryan Pope running the visitors close.


Following a draw and a defeat against Borras Park Albion this season, Penyffordd Lions put things straight with a 5-0 win.

Nathan Lavender, Mark Gallagher, Ben Hughes, Adam Pugh and Lewis Mitchell netted one apiece for the second-placed hosts.

Chirk Town took the spoils 3-2 at Acton, Lewis Penrose (pen), Cameron Roberts and Tom Freeman with the away strikes, Niall Challoner with both for the home team.

Lee Davies (3) and Colin Pugh (2) ensured Buckley Town triumphed 5-2 at Point of Ayr in the Veterans Premier Division.


There was a surprise in the Bwlch Car Boot Trophy as Pentraeth Reserves defeated Mountain Rangers 3-2.

Tom Jones, Matt Williams and Jack Halton were on the mark for the hosts, Sam Williams with both for the visitors.

In the same competition, Holyhead Hotspur Reserves edged a 4-3 verdict at Arriva Bangor.

Mike Jones, Mike Kelly, Mike Edwards and Cameron Eaton provided the Hotspur goals, Scott Hughes with a treble for Arriva.

Anglesey League action saw leaders Cemaes Bay batter Cefni 7-0, Steven Whittaker moving up to 26 goals for the season with a hat-trick.

Dylan Jones, Keenan Downey, Tam Morton and Ryan Folksman all registered once on the scoresheet.

Mike Williams and Andrew Bailey found the net to seal CPD Y Fali a 2-1 result at Bodorgan, Aaron Jones for the hosts.

Callum Jones (4), Adam Thomas (2), Owain Davies, Aaron Hughes and Keiran Williams combined to deliver Llanfairpwll a 9-0 pasting of Holyhead Town Reserves.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: