North West Wales Netball League: Clinton James win clash of Division One titans

St Asaph Thunder produced an amazing fightback only to fall just short against Abergele Aces

The clash of the Division One titans in the North West Wales Netball League saw Clinton James run out comfortable 49-23 winners over Llandudno Jets on Monday night.

In the first meeting of the sides this season, Clinton took an early lead in the first quarter and were never in any danger thereafter.

It was the battle of the weather systems in Division Two as Llandudno Storm defeated Menai Thunder 41-30.

Storm finished the first quarter five goals ahead, but Thunder managed to stop them running away with it and heading into the final session were four behind.

It looked like it was all to play for, but in the last Storm were able to steam ahead again and win by 11 in the end.

Bangor University and Gleision played out a brilliant battle in Division Three which was in the balance right until the death.

Although Bangor edged the first 7-6, Gleision came firing right back to lead 16-11 at half time.

Gleision were in front by four going into the final segment, but the students rallied and pipped their opponents 28-27.

Results – November 11

Division One – Ysgol-y-Creuddyn

Menai Bridge 51-29 Rhyl
(14-5; 29-12; 43-17; 51-29)

Menai Bridge: Laura Webber, Kathryn Hughes, Collette Charker, Lisa Campbell, Stevie Roberts, Kelly Roose, Steff Oliver Smith, Emily Vickers.
Rhyl: Anneka O’Connor, Hannah Ellis, Chloe Jones, Lucy Edwards, Emma Owen, Ruth Bateman, Lauren Beadle.
PoM: Menai Bridge – Steff Oliver Smith; Rhyl – Ruth Bateman.

St Asaph Thunder 21-24 Abergele Aces
(0-9; 4-13; 12-20; 21-24
Thunder: Beth Davies, Katie Blakemore, Hayley Jones, Faye Williams, Kat Williams, Ema Hughes, Caroline Baker.
Aces: Hollie Collins, Ceri Jones, Amie Hibbert, Ellen Deir, Mitzi Tilsten, Jade Wilcockson, Hayley Edwards, Chelsey Newman.
PoM: Thunder – Faye Williams; Aces – Chelsey Newman.

Clinton James 49-23 Llandudno Jets
(12-4; 25-9; 39-15; 49-23)

Clinton: Sophie Cocking, Abbie Rowe, Lauren McCormick, Hannah Roberts, Corrina Parry, Nicola Jasieniecka, Catherine Chin, Lucie Leonard.
Jets: Sam Rogers, Clesley Jones, Geraldine Vaughan Jones, Lucy Moran, Bethan Coleman, Sioned Coleman, Alis Francis, Alex Jones, Jessie Atkins, Elaine Owen.
PoM: Clinton – Catherine Chin; Jets – Elaine Owen.

Llandudno Jets found the going tough against Clinton James

Division Two – Ysgol John Bright

Menai Thunder 30-41 Llandudno Storm
(5-10; 11-14; 23-27; 30-41)

Thunder: Ellie Davies, Jessie Jones, Vicky Wells, Jo Harris, Ffion Jones, Chantelle Parker, Elle Wallwork-Jones.
Storm: Mia Rawling, Callie James, Hannah Partington, Ellie Jones, Mia Jones, Rebecca Freestone, Elin Watson, Amalie Partington.
PoM: Thunder – Jessie Jones; Storm – Hannah Partington.

Thundercats 62-11 CGG Sharks
(12-4; 28-9; 40-10; 62-11)

Thundercats: Anya Jones, Ally Williams, Louise Pleasant, Lucy Savage, Hope Brett, Gwenno Pritchard, Anna Selick, Eleanor Lomax, Hannah Nicholls.
CGG: Mel Barnes, Nat Caughtry, Elisha Drumm, Hazel Aslin, Claire Banks, Kerry Twist, Ruth Jarvis, Leah Owen.
PoM: Thundercats – Louise Pleasant; CGG – Ruth Jarvis.

Llandudno Knicks 37-26 Colwyn Swifts
(9-5; 17-13; 26-19; 37-26)

Knicks: Emily Joyce, Ellen Vick, Llinos Hill, Charlotte Ryan, Lora Jones, Alice Dyson, Mollie Ellis, Sioned Hughes, Claire Mander, Jolie Bellew-Hughes.
Swifts: Cerrie Smith, Rachel Bowers, Amy Roberts, Georgia Holmes, Catrin Bohanna, Serphina Jones, Amy Hall, Jessie Hughes.
PoM: Knicks – Emily Joyce; Swifts – Cerrie Smith.

Division Three – Ysgol Aberconwy

Llandudno Tornadoes 40-26 St Asaph Strikes
(15-4; 20-13; 31-23; 40-26)

Tornadoes: Ffion Anthony, Ema Jones, Olivia Jones, Paige Kemp, Ceri Watson, Alys Lees, Loren Bloxham, Sophie Jones, Nicol Siecinska.
Strikes: Courtney Roberts, Theresa Parry, Leanne Mather, Beth Gunther, Leanne Duncalf, Debbie Magistard, Joy Jamieson.
PoM: Tornadoes – Alys Lees; Strikes – Joy Jamieson.

Thunderkittens player of the match Lottie Pleasant

Abergele Diamonds 41-25 Thunderkittens
(8-7; 16-12; 28-20; 41-25)

Diamonds: Irene Martin, Lilly-Rose King, Laura Mellon, Oliver Morham, Abi Cocking, Sam Miller, Jodie Davies, Lowri Roberts.
Thunderkittens: Cerys Michael, Awel Jones, Siwan Jones, Reaghan Smith, Ela Evans, Cerys Davies, Lottie Pleasant, Ella Griffiths, Elain Rhun, Efa Williams.
PoM: Diamonds – Sam Miller; Thunderkittens – Lottie Pleasant.

Bangor Uni 28-27 Gleision
(7-6; 11-16; 17-21; 28-27)

Uni: Millie Pringle, Ema Stone, Josie Lelland, Jenna Tate, Olivia Chambers, Natalie Ehenco, Libby Molama-Fraser.
Gleision: Danni Power, Abby Owen, Lisa Marsh, Susan Williams, Helen Smith, Catrin Francis, Cez Edge.
PoM: Bangor Uni – Libby Molama-Fraser; Gleision – Helen Smith.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: