Steven Whittaker hits top spot in Bob Brodie Trophy standings

Steven Whittaker (red) is the first player in Anglesey senior soccer to reach 20 goals this term. Picture: Edryd Jones

There is a new leader in the Bob Brodie Trophy goals table.

Steven Whittaker’s hat-trick for Cemaes Bay in an 8-1 win over Llanfairpwll on Friday night made him the first player to reach 20 goals this season in Anglesey senior soccer.

Although there were a number of games cancelled at the weekend, there was still quite a bit of activity in the goals chart, with Ryan Rowlands of Amlwch Town edging up to a handy 15.

The Bob Brodie Trophy is competed for annually to reward the top goal-getter in Anglesey senior football. It is named in honour of Bob, a popular former player and manager who lived on the island and sadly left us in 2011.

Bob Brodie Trophy standings
(up to and including Oct 26, 2019)

20 – Steve Whittaker (Cemaes Bay)

18 – Asa Thomas (Holyhead Town)

15 –  Andy Williams (Cemaes Bay),  Ryan Rowlands (Amlwch Town)

14 – Jac Thomas (Bro Goronwy)

13 – Gary Jo Owen (Holyhead Town)

12 –  Robert Jones (Holyhead Hotspur),  Casey Boylan (Bodedern Athletic – 11 for CPD Y Fali),  Justin Williams (Trearddur Bay Bulls)

11 – Chris Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Dean Redmond (Bodedern Athletic), Corey Sinnott (Gwalchmai), Gwynfor Owen (Trearddur Bay Bulls),  Luke Allaway (Bodorgan Juniors)

10 –  Tom Hadley (Trearddur Bay Bulls)

8 –  Iwan Williams (Gaerwen), Jerome Sillence (Valley), Tom Zalot (Llanfairpwll), Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers),  Tudur Williams (Valley),  Keenan Downey (Cemaes Bay),  Wayne Thomas (Llangoed)

7 –   Rees Roberts (Pentraeth), James Ryan (Caergybi), Aaron Jones (Bodorgan),  Curt Williams (Holyhead Hotspur Res)

6 –  Dafydd Jones (Cemaes Bay)

5 – Llion Jones (Gaerwen), Mark Jones (Gwalchmai), Dafydd Healy (Menai Bridge Tigers), Cian Evans (Glantraeth), Todd Cusick (Cemaes Bay), Darren Lewthwaite (Gaerwen), Lewis Owen (Pentraeth Res), Casey Gregg & Craig Moore (Holyhead Hotspur Res), Elliot Jones (Llanfairpwll), Mark Thomas (Cefni), Kelvin Frazer (Menai Bridge Tigers), Jordan Edney (Bro Goronwy), Gwyndaf Hughes (Pentraeth), Dave Webb (Trearddur Bay Bulls), Llion Roberts (Llangoed), Daniel Jones (Cemaes Bay), Ioan Thomas (Bodorgan)


2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50
Average winning goals total per season = 58

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: