Get ready for two cracking northern quarter-finals in the Nathaniel MG Cup!

Prestatyn Town’s Robbie Hughes will be looking to add to his 14 goals this season tomorrow. Eight of those goals have come from the penalty spot

What a fantastic two quarter-finals we have featuring teams from the north in the Nathaniel MG Cup tomorrow night (Tuesday).

Two of the Cymru Premier’s finest will take on a pair of the very best the Cymru North has to offer.

Prestatyn Town, current runaway leaders of the Cymru North on a nine-match winning run, lock horns with top flight high-flyers Bala Town at Bastion Gardens.

And in a much-awaited derby, Cymru Premier table-toppers Connah’s Quay Nomads welcome tier-two title hopefuls Flint Town United to Deeside Stadium.

It has to be said that both of these ties carry a genuine chance of an upset.

So strong are the Prestatyn and Flint squads, that a win double for the lower league on Tuesday evening would be viewed as a minor shock only.

Victories for Bala and Nomads would not be seen as a surprise, but are also some distance from a sure thing.

In short, there are ample ingredients for two tremendous cup-ties.

To reach this stage, Prestatyn have beaten two Cymru Premier sides away, thrashing Caernarfon Town 4-1 and edging past Cefn Druids 2-1, while also seeing off fellow league side Llanrhaeadr 4-2.

Bala needed penalties to squeeze past Bangor City in the last round, but caned Gresford Athletic 7-0 in the stage before.

As for Flint, they have eliminated Porthmadog 5-1 and beat Cymru Premier Airbus 2-1, both at home, while Nomads also required spot-kicks to get past Cymru North underdogs Guilsfield in the last round having overcome Rhyl 2-0 at the previous hurdle.

Nathaniel MG Cup quarter-finals line up (Tuesday, October 29, 7.45 pm kick-offs)

Prestatyn Town v Bala Town
Connah’s Quay Nomads v Flint Town United
Newtown v STM Sports
Carmarthen Town v Aberystwyth Town

Nathaniel MG Cup 2019-20 results to date

Northern Section – third round
Guilsfield 1 (Callum Bromley) Connah’s Quay Nomads 1 (Jamie Insall) (Nomads won 5-3 on pens)
Caernarfon Town 1 (Sion Bradley) Prestatyn Town 4 (Jack Kenny 2, Jordan Davies 2)
Flint Town United 2 (Nathan Brown, Richie Foulkes pen) Airbus UK Broughton 1 (Oliver Lanceley)
Bala Town 1 (Louis Robles) Bangor City 1 (Francesco Serafino) (Bala won 7-6 on pens)
Southern Section – third round
Briton Ferry Llansawel 0 Carmarthen Town 2
Newtown 2 Penybont 1
STM Sports 1 Haverfordwest County 1 (STM won 7-6 on pens)
Cardiff Metropolitan (holders) 0 Aberystwyth Town 1

Round two north
Airbus UK Broughton 4 (Gethin Stephens OG, Steve Tomassen, Matthew Sargeant, Alex Darlington) Llanfair United 0
Bala Town 7 (Louis Robles 3, Steven Leslie, Chris Venables, Lee Molyneux, Henry Jones pen) Gresford Athletic 0
Cefn Druids 1 (Ryan Kershaw) Prestatyn Town 2 (Ian Griffiths, Rob Hughes)
Bangor City 1 (Simone Rea) The New Saints 1 (Kurtis Byrne) (Bangor won 4-2 on pens)
Corwen 0 Caernarfon Town 2 (Gareth Evans, Noah Edwards)
Flint Town United 5 (Alex Titchiner 2, Nathan Brown, Andy Brown, Mark Cadwallader) Porthmadog 1 (Sion Parry)
Guilsfield 1 (Adam Jenkins) Llandudno 0
Rhyl 0 Connah’s Quay Nomads 2 (Nathan Woolfe, Ryan Wignall)

Round one north
Berriew 0 Corwen 2 (Tom Williams, Sam Henry)
Buckley Town 0 Rhyl 2 (Danny Sullivan, Tom Creamer)
Conwy Borough 0 Bangor City 1 (Eugenio Dalia)
Gresford Athletic 1 (Jordan MacCarter) Colwyn Bay 0
Llanfair United 3 (Karl Seliaerts, Josh Astley, Ashley Davies) Llangefni Town 1 (Craig Roberts)
Prestatyn Town 4 (Ian Griffiths, Rob Hughes, Michael Parker, Kyham Wyton own goal) Llanrhaeadr 2 (Mattie Jones 2, 1 pen)
Guilsfield 3 (Jake Cooke, Stuart Rogers, Jack Richards) Ruthin Town 0

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: