Giant-killers 1876 triumph after dramatic Welsh Cup shoot-out

Penycae on the attack against Bangor 1876. Picture: Andre Pepper @eventphotowales

Bangor 1876 3 (Petrie pen 5 & pen 109, Lock 90)
Penycae 3 (Dunleavy 3 & 77, Woodall 102)
Welsh Cup first round 1876 won 3-2 on pens)

A Gwynedd League side reaching the second round proper of the Welsh Cup must be a very rare occurrence – it may never have happened before.

But Bangor 1876 are no ordinary tier-five team.

They are a winning machine who proved today they do not just specialise in imposing heavy defeats on outplayed opponents – they can also battle with the bigger boys to the bitter end and still emerge successful.

Mel Jones’ side conquered their third tier-three opponent of the season today in pipping Penycae of the Welsh National League Premier Division on a penalty shoot-out.

Yet the fan-owned club so nearly went out, with only an injury-time leveller from Matthew Lock securing them extra time.

The tests are getting tougher for 1876 but they keep leaping over the hurdles. Today was their 13th straight victory and perhaps their finest to date.

Penycae got off to a flyer at Treborth when Anthony Dunleavy fired them in front in the third minute.

Just two minutes later the underdogs were level. Les Davies was brought down in the box and Jamie Petrie converted from the penalty spot.

That was the end of the first half scoring and well into the second period there was no clue yet as to who would take the honours.

It looked grimmer for 1876 though when Dunleavy curled a shot from the edge of the box beyond Leon Jones’ grasp to make it 2-1 to the visitors on 77 minutes.

Time was almost up when 1876 forced a corner from which Matthew Lock made it two-apiece to spark joyous scenes among the home faithful.

Action from Bangor 1876 v Penycae. Picture: Andre Pepper @eventphotowales

Into extra time and Penycae took the lead for a third time in the 102nd minute when Evan Woodall struck to make it 3-2.

The hosts were not finished, however, and in the 108th minute Petrie was impeded in the box and a spot-kick awarded.

Up stepped Petrie to dispatch his 24th goal of the season – and eighth penalty – to necessitate a shoot-out.

And it was the home side who came out celebrating as successful kicks from Davies, Dylan Williams and Petrie sealed a 3-2 outcome.

Who said the romance of the Welsh Cup is dead?

Bangor 1876 results – 2019-20 season

Oct 19: Penycae (h – WC R1) 3-3 (Petrie 2 pens, Matthew Lock) – won 3-2 on pens
Oct 15: Bethesda Ath (h – GL) 14-0 (Petrie 5, Summers-Jones 3, Davies 2, Dion Jones 2, C Williams, Barry)
Oct 12: Llanelwy Athletic (a – NWCFA Junior Cup) 3-1 (D Williams, Steele, Lundstram)
Oct 8: Llannerchymedd (h – GL) 12-0 (Summers-Jones 4, Petrie 3, Davies 2, Lloyd-Jones 2, Dafydd Thomas)
Sep 28: Penrhyndeudraeth (h – WC QR2) 6-2 (Davies 4, Summers-Jones 2)
Sep 21: Talysarn Celts (a – GL) 4-2 (Dylan Williams, Davies, Petrie 2, 1 pen)
Sep 14: Pwllheli (h – FAW Trophy) 3-1 (Lloyd-Jones 2, Barry)
Aug 31: Llandudno Athletic (h – WC) 4-1 (Petrie pen, Barry, C Williams, Summers-Jones)
Aug 26: Llangoed (a – GL) 5-0 (Petrie 3, 1 pen, Davies, Owens)
Aug 24: Nefyn United (h – GL) 3-1 (Petrie 2, 1 pen, Davies)
Aug 19: Caergybi (h – GL) 10-0 (Summers-Jones 3, Lloyd-Jones 2, Petrie 2, C Williams, Barry, Owens)
Aug 17: Sychdyn (h – FAW Trophy) 5-1 (Summers-Jones 3, Petrie 2 pens)
Aug 10: Ogwen Tigers (a – GL) 4-1 (Summers-Jones 2, Petrie, Lundstram)

Match record
League: P 7 W 7 D 0 L 0 GF 52 GA 4
Cup: P 6 W 6 D 0 L 0 GF 24 GA 9

Goalscorers (76)
24 – Jamie Petrie
18 – Dylan Summers-Jones
11 – Les Davies
6 – Jos Lloyd-Jones
4 – Cameron Barry
3 – Cian Williams
2 – Benn Lundstram, Dion Jones, Dylan Williams
1 – Leon Owens, Luke Steele, Dafydd Thomas, Matthew Lock

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: