CPD Aberffraw remain the giant-killing kings of North Wales football

Aberffraw in action against Glan Conwy (green and white) during Saturday’s Welsh Cup win at Cae Cynlas. Picture: David Harper

Whatever their league position, however their results are going, CPD Aberffraw always have a habit of doing something special in Wales’ leading knockout competitions.

Over the past five seasons, the Anglesey side have caused endless upsets in the Welsh Cup and FAW Trophy.

Berffro have seen off numerous teams operating at higher levels since a golden period of eight one-off shock victories began in 2015/16.

And the Welsh Alliance Division Two outfit were at it again this weekend, eliminating Division One mid-table side Glan Conwy in the Welsh Cup second qualifying round.

Here are eight memorable successes recorded by the Cae Cynlas club over the last five campaigns…..


Aberffraw 4 Gaerwen 1 (Welsh Cup QR1 – Aug 22, 2015)

Gwynedd League Berffro trailed 1-0 at half time to their fellow islanders from Welsh Alliance Division Two.

Matty Reynolds equalised in the second half to force extra time and from here Aberffraw’s superior stamina took over.

Reynolds struck again, and Ieuan Lloyd and Connor Rees sealed the win.

Llanrwst United 1 Aberffraw 2 (Welsh Cup QR2 – Sep 12, 2015)

A new chapter in Aberffraw’s history as they hosted Welsh Alliance Division One opponents for the first time and what a way to mark the occasion!

The Anglesey charges led 1-0 at the interval through Gary Bolton, and though the Rwsters levelled after the break, Matty Reynolds blasted through a ruck of bodies in the 89th minute to secure a tremendous win.

Aberffraw 2 Abergele Town 0 (FAW Trophy R2 – Sep 19, 2015)

Seven days after beating the Rwsters, it got even better for Berffro as they sunk another Welsh Alliance Division One side in high-flying Abergele.

Two goals from master finisher Gary Bolton booked a famous win for the Gwynedd Leaguers over opponents from two divisions above.

Aberffraw lost to Penrhyncoch and Llandudno Junction in the next rounds of the Welsh Cup and Trophy respectively that season, but what an adventure it had been.


Aberffraw 3 Llanrug United 2 (FAW Trophy R2 – Sep 3, 2016)

Biggest scalp yet for Berffro, still in the Gwynedd League, as they eliminated Welsh Alliance Division One Llanrug, winners of the Trophy in 2014.

After falling behind early on, the hosts turned the tables with goals from Andrew Jones, Ieuan Lloyd and Richard Roberts.

Llanllyfni 2 Aberffraw 5 (FAW Trophy R3 – Oct 15, 2016)

Although Llanllyfni were just one notch above Aberffraw in Welsh Alliance Division Two, the Caernarfon area side entered this tie as strong favourites given their pedigree and powerful squad.

Yet within the first 25 minutes man-in-form Richard Roberts had taken them to the cleaners with a hat-trick.

Matty Reynolds and Andrew Jones also struck for the Anglesey heroes.


Trearddur Bay United 1 Aberffraw 3 (Welsh Cup QR1 – Aug 19, 2017)

Now promoted to Welsh Alliance Division Two, Berffro were still producing the unexpected as they sent Division One Bay tumbling out of the Welsh Cup.

Richard Roberts netted twice and Nathan Moore added a single for the visitors at Lon Isallt.


Bodedern Athletic 1 Aberffraw 2 (Welsh Cup QR1 – Sep 1, 2018)

Another stunning away win in the Welsh Cup as this time Aberffraw got the right result at Bodedern, who were to finish runners-up in Welsh Alliance Division One that season.

Richard Roberts bagged both goals for the visitors, the striker maintaining his excellent record of scoring in these big ties.

Berffro went out on penalties to fellow giant-killing specialists Rhostyllen in the next round.

Aberffraw take on Holyhead Hotspur in the FAW Trophy this season. Berffro led for a long spell and only lost 2-1 in extra time to the Welsh Alliance Division One high-flyers. Picture: Chris Willz (Eye in the Sky Photography)


Aberffraw 2 Glan Conwy 1 (Welsh Cup QR2 – Sep 28, 2019)

The islanders from WAL Division Two knocked a Division One side out of the Welsh Cup for a third successive season as they overcame the challenge of Glan Conwy.

Nathan Moore and Gary Bolton put the home side two-up before the visitors grabbed a late reply.

Berffro have a chance of another giant-killing in the next stage, having been drawn away to former victims Llanrug United of WAL Division One in the first round proper.

CPD Aberffraw – a brief history

Aberffraw first joined the Anglesey Football League immediately after the Second World War and between 1946-47 and 1964-65 were one of the island’s strongest clubs.
They won the league title in 1952-53 and 1963-64, also finishing runners-up and in third spot on a few occasions.
Berffro pulled out of the league for a couple of seasons in the mid-1960s, but returned for a second spell between 1967-68 and 1974-75, being known as Aberffraw United for three of those campaigns.
The club withdrew from the league for the 1975-76 season, rejoined for just 1976-77 and then were members again from 1982-83 to 1986-87.
There was then a long gap before Aberffraw came back into the Anglesey League in 2010-11 after a spell playing in Sunday football.
They stayed in the island competition until 2013-14 before moving up to the Gwynedd League for the first time in 2014-15, remaining there for three seasons and finishing runners-up in 2016-17,
Berffro then progressed to the highest level in their history – tier-four Welsh Alliance Division Two – and are currently in their third season at this standard.
There is no information available on any cups Aberffraw may have won in their Anglesey League days, but in recent years they have reached a number of finals without managing to win one.
They made it to the NWCFA Junior Cup Final in 2014, but were beaten by Y Felinheli.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: