Nathaniel MG Cup third round: Prestatyn and Flint eye up potential giant-killings

Prestatyn Town have started the season well. Picture: John Pickles, Prestatyn Town FC Facebook page

Prestatyn Town have landed a trip to Welsh Premier club Caernarfon Town in the northern quarter-finals of the Nathaniel MG Cup.

The teams have plenty of recent history, having battled for the Cymru Alliance title on more than one occasion, with the Canaries crowned champions of the tier-two league in 2015/16 and 2017/18 and the Seasiders in 2016/17.

They also clashed in last season’s Welsh Cup third round with Caernarfon, who were in their first season back in the Welsh Premier, beating their Cymru Alliance opponents 3-0 at the Motion Finance Stadium.

Another attractive round three tie is the Flintshire derby between Flint Town United and Airbus UK Broughton at Cae-y-Castell. The teams occupied the top two positions in the Cymru Alliance last term, with Airbus winning the title.

Connah’s Quay Nomads will travel to Cymru Alliance (now Cymru North) club Guilsfield. Nomads triumphed 4-2 at Clos Mytton in last season’s Welsh Cup.

Bala Town will eventually be home to the team which comes out victorious in the Conwy BoroughBangor CityThe New Saints conundrum.

Northern Section – third round draw (ties to be played week commencing September 23)
Guilsfield v Connah’s Quay Nomads
Caernarfon Town v Prestatyn Town
Flint Town United v Airbus UK Broughton
Bala Town v Conwy Borough/Bangor City/The New Saints

Southern Section – third round
Briton Ferry Llansawel v Carmarthen Town
Newtown v Penybont
STM Sports v Haverfordwest County
Cardiff Metropolitan (holders) v Aberystwyth Town

Nathaniel MG Cup results 2019-20

Round two north
Airbus UK Broughton 4 (Gethin Stephens OG, Steve Tomassen, Matthew Sargeant, Alex Darlington) Llanfair United 0
Bala Town 7 (Louis Robles 3, Steven Leslie, Chris Venables, Lee Molyneux, Henry Jones pen) Gresford Athletic 0
Cefn Druids 1 (Ryan Kershaw) Prestatyn Town 2 (Ian Griffiths, Rob Hughes)
Conwy Borough or Bangor City P The New Saints P
Corwen 0 Caernarfon Town 2 (Gareth Evans, Noah Edwards)
Flint Town United 5 (Alex Titchiner 2, Nathan Brown, Andy Brown, Mark Cadwallader) Porthmadog 1 (Sion Parry)
Guilsfield 1 (Adam Jenkins) Llandudno 0
Rhyl 0 Connah’s Quay Nomads 2 (Nathan Woolfe, Ryan Wignall)

Round one north
Berriew 0 Corwen 2 (Tom Williams, Sam Henry)
Buckley Town 0 Rhyl 2 (Danny Sullivan, Tom Creamer)
Conwy Borough P Bangor City P
Gresford Athletic 1 (Jordan MacCarter) Colwyn Bay 0
Llanfair United 3 (Karl Seliaerts, Josh Astley, Ashley Davies) Llangefni Town 1 (Craig Roberts)
Prestatyn Town 4 (Ian Griffiths, Rob Hughes, Michael Parker, Kyham Wyton own goal) Llanrhaeadr 2 (Mattie Jones 2, 1 pen)
Guilsfield 3 (Jake Cooke, Stuart Rogers, Jack Richards) Ruthin Town 0

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: