North Wales Cricket League Premier and Liverpool Competition: Murray-Williams hits career best 123 no in Pwllheli win

Morgan Murray-Williams hit a senior career-best 123 not out for Pwllheli at Llandudno

Llandudno (1) 149-10 Pwllheli (14) 232-8
Result: Pwllheli won by 83 runs

Captain Morgan Murray-Williams hit a senior career-best 123 not out as Pwllheli celebrated one of their finest wins of the season with an 83-run triumph at Llandudno.

Murray-Williams recorded his fourth first team ton and reached 4,000 league runs exactly for the club with a memorable knock at The Oval.

Pwllheli won the toss and batted, setting 232-8 off 50 overs with Murray-Williams and Chris Moore (50) putting on 102 for the second wicket. The skipper struck 13 fours and a six in his 144-ball unbeaten innings.

Dan Evans was Llandudno’s best bowler with 4-43 off 12 overs.

Murray-Williams then completed a fantastic match by taking 4-22 as Tudno were bowled out for just 149. However, even the skipper was outdone by Tristan Coetzee’s 5-38.

For the home side, Matthew Jones posted 53, Luke Kenworthy 33 and Evans 30.

Bangor (11) 199-8 Northop (4) 195-5
Result: Bangor won by two wickets

With four matches left to play Bangor are 12 points clear at the summit after narrowly beating visitors Northop with three balls to spare on Saturday.

Put into bat, the Flintshire side made 195-5 off 50 overs, Alex Gill (74) and Thomas Hughes (38) forming an opening stand of 85.

Franco Kasner picked up 4-43 for the Citizens.

In reply, Bangor were struggling to get home on 160-7 – Kasner 61 – until ninth-wicket pair Michael Hughes (23 no) and Christopher Dawson got them to 199-8 off 49.4 overs.

Ammar Mahmood claimed 3-37 for the away side.

Menai Bridge (15) 264-6 Connah’s Quay (0) 98-10
Result: Bridge won by 166 runs

Champions Menai Bridge took maximum points to remain third and are still in with a chance of retaining their title.

Opting to bat first against Connah’s Quay, the Anglesey side amassed 264-6 off 50 overs, Arwel Thomas leading the charge with 76, Luke Jones adding 36, skipper Dion Holden 32 and Jack Gower 30, Martin Burger 2-38 for the visitors.

The 10-man Quay were dismissed for just 98, Sean O’Callaghan 5-24 from 11 overs.

Brymbo (11) 149-8 Pontblyddyn (4) 148-9
Result: Brymbo won by 2 wickets

Brymbo further boosted their chances of escaping the drop by defeating relegation rivals Pontblyddyn in a tense battle.

Inserted by the hosts, Pont could only muster 148-9 off a reduced 42 overs, Chris Moss 71 no and Jon Byrd 30, Gareth Boys 3-21 and Mohamed Nilam Jayman 3-26 for the Steelmen, who got to 149-8 with three deliveries remaining, James Claybrook 44 and Boys 41, Moss 2-23 from 10 for the away side.

Gresford (2) 172-8 Mochdre (13) 173-3
Result: Mochdre won by 7 wickets

Russ Boswell snapped up 6-37 as title hopefuls Mochdre triumphed by seven wickets at Clappers Lane.

Asked to take first knock, Gresford registered 172-8 off 50 overs, Matthew Cree (48) and Gareth Bell (33) for the hosts, Boswell’s figures standing head and shoulders above the rest for the visitors.

Skipper Matthew Humphreys (58 no) and James French (57 no) then produced the decisive partnership as Mochdre reached 173-3 in the last over to seal a crucial 13-2 verdict.

St Asaph (1) 114-10 Denbigh (14) 194-9
Result: Denbigh won by 80 runs

Opener Gerallt Lyall cracked a vital season’s best 86 as Denbigh comfortably saw off local rivals St Asaph at Elwy Grove Park.

Lyall’s effort was by far the best in the visiting innings of 194-9, Danny Ryan taking 5-62 for Asaph.

Saints were then rolled over for 114, Harrison Jones 3-16 off 11.2, Jack Griffiths 3-28, Gethin Williams 2-21 and Ifan Jones 2-23 in a 14-1 result..

Liverpool Cricket Competition results

1st XI ECB Premier League
Ormskirk (24) 190-4 dec (Adam Campion 2-57, Paul Jenkins 2-63)
Colwyn Bay (4) 152-10 (Saliya Saman Jeewantha 82, Michael Littler 40)

1st XI First Division
Highfield (20) 152-3 (James Hurlin 2-34)
Northop Hall (3) 151-10 (Alastair Andrady 39, Joshua Andrady 30, Ben Slater 30)

1st XI First Division
Prestatyn (4) 132-10 (Rhys Jones 33, Gareth Leonard 30)
Sefton Park (25) 235-4 dec (Adam Tidswell 2-59)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: