Llanrwst bowler John Bailey wins Craig Roberts Memorial for first time

John Bailey (centre) has chalked another off his ‘trophies to win’ list

There was a very popular local winner of the latest Craig Roberts Memorial bowls tournament as Llanrwst’s John Bailey lifted the trophy for the first time.

Bailey is a four-time Welsh Merit champion, won the Champion of Champions in 2007 and Spring Waterloo Tournament in 2005, yet in five previous attempts had not tasted success in this annual showpiece at Rhos-on-Sea, held in honour of a young soldier from Penrhyn Bay who passed away in 2013.

A packed crowd of more than 350 enjoyed the feast of bowls at the Craig Roberts Memorial 2019, featuring eight of the UK’s finest crown green players and held as part of the six-day Colwyn Bowling Festival.

Bailey took home the £400 first prize, defeating Preston’s Simon Coupe 21-15 in a thrilling final.

The Llanrwst hero pipped Kevan Shaw 21-20 in the last eight and Tommy Johnstone 21-16 in the semi.

With the admission, a large raffle on the green all contributed to raising a grand total of £1,012.60 for Craig’s family’s chosen charity “Combat Stress”, in aid of veterans’ mental health.

Full results
Simon Coupe (Preston) 21-12 Glynn Cookson (Winsford)
Wayne Ditchfield (Eccleston) 21-9 Callum Wraight (Shrewsbury)
Kevan Shaw (Westhoughton) 20-21 John Bailey (Llanrwst)
Tommy Johnstone (Poynton) 21-18 Matt Gilmore (Wallasey)
Coupe 21-15 Ditchfield
Bailey 21-16 Johnstone
Bailey 21-15 Coupe

Tournament organiser Dan Jones, a close friend of Craig Roberts, gave a special thank you for sponsorship and donations from :
Ekult Group Limited – Luke Blundell; Welsh Crown Green Bowling Association – David Mathias; Williams Denton Accountants – Phil Davies; Stephen Barron; Trevor Young School of Motoring; Lee Johnstone Pitchcare; Siobhan Watson – Mainly Money Matters; John Percy (WCGBA Patron); Andy Owens; Stephen Buckley – Fences, Gardens and Gates; Mike Chamberlain – Pentre Isaf Bed and Breakfast; Chris Jones – Express Couriers Northwest; Swainson Electrical; Sional Promotional Merchandise; Peter Lucas Tool Hire; The Grand Hotel (Llandudno); North Wales Golf Club; J&D Clothing; Taylor bowls.

Craig Roberts Memorial Invitation list of winners

2019 – John Bailey
2018 – Wayne Ditchfield
2017 – Glynn Cookson
2016 – Callum Wraight
2015 – Glynn Cookson
2014 – Glynn Cookson

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: