Sixth Craig Roberts Memorial Bowls Tournament takes place next week

John Bailey (left) pictured after his 2014 Welsh Merit win. The Llanrwst ace is in the field for the 2019 Craig Roberts Memorial Tournament

The sixth annual Craig Roberts Memorial Invitation bowls tournament takes place at Rhos Park Bowling Club next week.

Named in honour of the young soldier from Penrhyn Bay who died after a gruelling training exercise to join the SAS on the Brecon Beacons in 2013, the event will feature eight of the UK’s leading bowlers.

The competition will be held next Thursday, August 1, as part of the six-day Colwyn Bowling Festival. Start time is 6pm. More details:

Local interest is served through Llanrwst’s John Bailey, four-time Welsh Merit champion, and winner of the Champion of Champions in 2007 and Spring Waterloo Tournament in 2005.

The 2019 draw has been made and is as follows:
Simon Coupe (Preston) v Glynn Cookson (Winsford)
Wayne Ditchfield (Eccleston) v Callum Wraight (Shrewsbury)
Kevan Shaw (Westhoughton) v John Bailey (Llanrwst)
Tommy Johnstone (Poynton) v Matt Gilmore (Wallasey)

All proceeds from the evening will go to Craig’s family’s chosen charity Combat Stress in support of veteran’s mental health.

Prize Money: Winner £400; runner up £200; semi finalist £100; highest break £50.

Entry fee is £3 (including programme), hot and cold refreshments/bar facilities available, large raffle, bookmaker in attendance.

Craig Roberts Memorial Invitation past winners

2018 – Wayne Ditchfield
2017 – Glynn Cookson
2016 – Callum Wraight
2015 – Glynn Cookson
2014 – Glynn Cookson

Player Profiles

Simon Coupe
Home Club – Parkfield Labour Club
County Merit wins – North Lancs & Fylde x3
Top 3 competition wins: Waterloo Handicap 2010 & 2011; Champion of Champions 2014.

Glynn Cookson
Home Club – Wharton Cons
County Merit wins – Cheshire x5
Top 3 competition wins: Waterloo Handicap 2001; Bass Masters 1994; All England 1997.

Wayne Ditchfield
Home Club – Lower Hopton (Yorkshire)
County Merit wins – North Lancs & Fylde x3
Top 3 competition wins: Isle of Man September Festival 2010; Hill-Crest 2012; Waterloo Handicap 2017.

Callum Wraight
Home Club – Castlefields B.C
County Merit Wins – Shropshire x3
Top 3 competition wins: All England 2009; Pudsey Classic 2011; Champion of Champions 2015.

Kevan Shaw
Home Clubs – Westhoughton Reform Club / Red Lion (Panel)
County Merit Wins – Lancashire x1
Top 3 competition wins: Isle of Man June Festival 1990; Spring Waterloo 2018; Bellingham 2018.

John Bailey
Home Club – Llanrwst BC
County Merit wins – Wales x4
Top 3 competition wins: Waterloo Handicap 2005; Champion of Champions 2007 & 2018.

Tommy Johnstone
Home Club – Houldsworth WMC
County Merit wins – Lancashire x5 & Cheshire x1
Top 3 competition wins: Waterloo 1985; Bass Masters 1995; All England 2002.

Matt Gilmore
Home Club – Manor Road
County Merit wins – Merseyside x2 & Cheshire x2
Top 3 competition wins: All England 2001 & 2016; Isle of Man June Festival 2003; Meole Brace 2010 .

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: