Football preview: Nathaniel MG Cup first round

Prestatyn Town manager Neil Gibson wants his side to impress in the Nathaniel MG Cup. Pic: Prestatyn Town FC Facebook account

JD Cymru North clubs are ready for action this Saturday as the first balls are kicked in the Nathaniel MG Cup competition.

All first round matches are set to go ahead apart from the Conwy Borough v Bangor City tie, which has been postponed amid the Citizens’ ongoing appeal hearing and additional charge of fielding an ineligible player issued by the Football Association of Wales.

However, there are six other northern matches on the roster which have plenty of appeal.

Rhyl travel to Buckley Town on the back of some tough pre-season tests against the likes of Everton Under-23s and 1874 Northwich, but boosted by good signings such as Asa Hamilton, Leo Riley and Tommy Creamer, all players with ample experience at tier two level.

Today the Lilywhites also announced the captures of experienced midfielder Danny Sullivan and goalkeeper Keighan Jones.

Buckley have added midfielders Lewis Cunliffe and Pat Hinchcliffe, plus striker Sam Spridgeon, to their squad over the summer, and will be aiming to make home advantage count.

Ruthin Town host Guilsfield in another all JD Cymru North encounter which could go either way, while Prestatyn Town have a strong pre-season behind them and a number of class signings on board ahead of the visit of Llanrhaeadr YM.

Recent wins against a Tranmere Rovers XI (5-0) and Ashville (4-2) ensure Neil Gibson’s men hit the ground running, the likes of Michael Parker, Rob Hughes, Kai Edwards, Zyaac Edwards, Zebb Edwards, Jordan Davies and Jack Kenny all having returned to Bastion Gardens over the summer.

Colwyn Bay, who have a completely new-look squad, make their long-awaited competitive return to Welsh football with what could be a testing trip to Gresford Athletic.

Well-known names to have landed at Llanelian Road over the summer include Joe Chaplin, Sion Edwards, Julian Williams, Mike Williams, Toby Jones and Will Bell.

JD Cymru North newcomers Llanfair United and Llangefni Town lock horns in Powys, with Cefni losing several key members of last season’s squad to other clubs over the summer, but having also made some interesting additions including Deion Evans, Gavin Sharpe, Callum Mcminimee, Jamie Roberts, Tyler French and Gerwyn Roberts.

Another side promoted to tier two this season, Corwen, travel to Mid-Wales outfit Berriew.

Most winners of the first round ties are assured a meeting with the JD Cymru Premier club in the next stage.

Round one north ties

Berriew v Corwen
Buckley Town v Rhyl
Conwy Borough P Bangor City P
Gresford Athletic v Colwyn Bay
Llanfair United v Llangefni Town
Prestatyn Town v Llanrhaeadr
Ruthin Town v Guilsfield

Round two north draw

Berriew/Corwen v Caernarfon Town
Bala Town v Gresford Athletic/Colwyn Bay
Buckley Town/Rhyl v Connah’s Quay Nomads
Airbus UK Broughton v Llanfair United/Llangefni Town
Cefn Druids v Prestatyn Town/Llanrhaeadr
Conwy Borough/Bangor City v The New Saints
Flint Town United v Porthmadog
Ruthin Town/Guilsfield v Llandudno
Ties to be played weekend of August 9-11

(the competition was known as the League of Wales/Welsh Premier League Cup until 2014/15, when a new format admitting feeder league clubs was introduced)
1992–93 Afan Lido 1-1 (4-3 pens) Caersws
1993–94 Afan Lido 1-0 Bangor City
1994–95 Llansantffraid 2-1 Ton Pentre
1995–96 Connah’s Quay Nomads 1-0 Ebbw Vale
1996–97 Barry Town 2-2 (4-2 pens) Bangor City
1997-98 Barry Town 1-1 (5-4 pens) Bangor City
1998-99 Barry Town 3-0 Caernarfon Town
1999-00 Barry Town 6-0 Bangor City
2000-01 Caersws 2-0 Barry Town
2001-02 Caersws 2-1 Cwmbran Town
2002-03 Rhyl 2-2 (4-3 pens) Bangor City
2003-04 Rhyl 4-0 Carmarthen Town
2004-05 Carmarthen Town 2-0 (AET) Rhyl
2005-06 Total Network Solutions 4-0 Port Talbot Town
2006-07 Caersws 1-1 (3-1 pens) Rhyl
2007-08 Llanelli 2-0 Rhyl
2008-09 The New Saints 2-0 Bangor City
2009-10 The New Saints 3-1 Rhyl
2010-11 Afan Lido 4-3 (aet) Llanelli
2011-12 Afan Lido 1-1 (3-2 pens) Newtown
2012-13 Carmarthen Town 3-3 (3-1 pens) The New Saints
2013-14 Carmarthen Town 0-0 (3-1 pens) Bala Town
2014-15 The New Saints 3-0 Bala Town
2015-16 The New Saints 2-0 Denbigh Town
2016-17 The New Saints 4-0 Barry Town United
2017-18 The New Saints 1-0 Cardiff Met
2018-19 Cardiff Met 2-0 Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC

Title Wins
The New Saints – 9
Barry Town – 4
Afan Lido – 3
Caersws – 3
Carmarthen Town – 3
Rhyl – 2
Connah’s Quay Nomads – 1
Llanelli Town – 1
Cardiff Met – 1

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: