James Ryan of Caergybi FC wins 2018-19 Bob Brodie Trophy goalscorers competition

James Ryan goal maestro

James Ryan is the 2018-19 Bob Brodie Trophy winner

James Ryan (stripes) broke the Bob Brodie Trophy record with 72 goals for Caergybi

James Ryan of Caergybi FC is the winner of the eighth Bob Brodie Trophy.

Awarded each season to the top goalscorer in Anglesey football, Ryan broke the competition record in 2018-19 by netting 72 times in all matches.

He finished 14 goals ahead of Bryngwran’s Craig Moore, with Dean Redmond of Gwynedd League champions Menai Bridge Tigers an outstanding third on 39.

Ryan was runner-up in the BBT last season with 54 goals, so this season he’s gone one better.

Caergybi players have now won back-to-back golden boots.

The trophy is named in honour of Bob Brodie, a much-missed former footballer and manager on the island, who passed away in 2011.


Final standings 2018/19 season

72 – James Ryan (Caergybi)

58 – Craig Moore (Bryngwran Bulls)

39 – Dean Redmond (Menai Bridge Tigers)

31 – Andy Clarke (Glantraeth)

29 – Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – 12 for Holyhead Town)

26 – Nathan Moore (Aberffraw)

25 – Richard Roberts (Aberffraw)

23 – Ryan Rowlands (Cemaes Bay)

22 – Liam Morris (Llangefni Town), Jac Thomas (Bro Goronwy)

21 – Matthew Jones (Llangefni Town), Sion Hogan (Menai Bridge Tigers), Kenny Williams (Pentraeth Res)

20 – Aidan Clark (Bodedern Athletic), Asa Thomas (Holyhead Town)


2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58

2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59

2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64

2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42

2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57

2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62

2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: