North Wales football’s greatest stories No10: Llangefni Town make history

A Llangefni Town line-up of the early 1990s

Only once in its 129-year history has the FAW Trophy been lifted by an Anglesey club.

Llangefni Town became the sole island side to win the national competition back in 1991/92.

Cefni were an outstanding team in that era which saw them dominate the Welsh Alliance League.

But to beat the next-level-up Cymru Alliance champions of that 1991/92 season Caersws in the final of what was then known as the Welsh Intermediate Cup was something quite exceptional.

Llangefni entered the cup at the second round, winning 3-1 at Nefyn United before seeing off Mochdre 2-0 at home at the next stage.

Round four saw the Ynys Môn team sweep aside west Wales outfit Suburbs 3-0, then the quarter-final delivered a 2-0 triumph over Blaenrhondda of the South Wales Alliance League.

Conwy United of the Cymru Alliance were the opposition in the last four and after a 0-0 draw Cefni went on to reach the final as reward for winning the replay 1-0.

Forward to May 2, 1992 and the FAW Intermediate Cup Final between Welsh Alliance title chasers Llangefni Town and big favourites Caersws, high-flyers in the Cymru Alliance, at Wrexham’s Racecourse Ground.

This competition had changed its name to the Intermediate Cup in 1974 after beginning life as the Welsh Amateur Cup.

Town were the first Anglesey team to make the final of this national tournament for non-contract players since it began operating in 1890-91.

The match at the Racecourse ended 1-1, Colin Jones on target for Cefni, so a replay was required at Y Traeth, Porthmadog, a few days later.

On this occasion Llangefni triumphed 2-1 thanks to goals from Bob Parry and Emrys Jones.

The squads for the final were:

Llangefni Town: Gareth Hughes, Gary Campbell, Andy Roberts, Allan Jones, Keith Ross, Peter O’Neil, Emrys Jones, Colin Jones, Bob Parry, Darren Baker, Alec James, Robert Gilmour, Terry Owen, Anthony Jones, David Williams, Ian Fidler.

Caersws: John Sillitoe, Gwyn Williams, Kevin Lloyd, Anthony Griffiths, Ian Jones, John Davies, Marc Hughes, Guy Jones, Hugh Clarke, Duncan Andrew, Brian Davies, Lyn Owen, Phil Richards, Dave Griffiths.

Match programme cover of the 1991/92 Welsh Intermediate Cup Final

Llangefni Town path to the final

R2 Nefyn United (a) 3-1

R3 Mochdre (h) 2-0

R4 Suburbs (h) 3-0

QF Blaenrhondda (a) 2-0

SF Conwy United (n) 1-0 (replay after 0-0)

F Caersws (at Racecourse) 2-1 (replay after 1-1)

Llangefni Town pen pictures 1991-92

Gareth Hughes (goalkeeper): Was with Porthmadog the previous season, played at the highest non-league level for Bangor City, where he won a championship medal in the Northern Premier League, as well as Caernarfon Town and Rhyl.

Gary Campbell (defender): Stylish performer who also played for Llanfairpwll, Y Felinheli, Bethesda and Bangor City.

Andy Roberts (defender): Had a spell at Cardiff City before moving into the non-league sphere with Bangor City, Bethesda Athletic and Llanfairpwll.

Colin Jones (utility): Versatile player who had previously played for Llanfairpwll and Bangor City.

Keith Ross (defender): Club captain. Commanding central defender who was Llangefni’s Player of the Year in 1990-91.

Allan Jones (defender): Experienced defender who formed a tremendous partnership with Ross. Ex-clubs included Llanfairpwll, Bethesda and Bangor City.

Emrys Jones (midfield): Playmaker who was formerly a Gwynedd League Player of the Year for Cefni after starring for Llannerchymedd and Bethesda Athletic.

Peter O’Neil (midfield): In his first season with Llangefni and a regular goal-getter. Joined from Llanfairpwll.

Robert Gilmour (midfield): In his second spell with the club, effective out wide, Wales Schoolboy international.

Darren Baker (midfield): Former Wrexham professional who went on to impress for Bangor City and Caernarfon Town.

Terry Owen (midfield): Squad player, a terrier looking to make his mark in the firsts.

Alec James (forward): Speedy front man, half of a great striking partnership with Bob Parry, dynamic goal-scorer.

Bob Parry (forward): Top-scorer, big, hard-running striker, great in the air and on the ground. Stayed loyal to Cefni despite interest from many other clubs.

Anthony Jones (forward): Formerly with Llannerchymedd, now in fourth season at Town.

Ian Fidler (forward): Transferred from Glantraeth, where he eventually broke all sorts of club records.

  • Llangefni Town won the Welsh Alliance title three times in four seasons in the early 1990s and on four occasions during that decade in all. As well as the Welsh Intermediate Cup in 1991/92, they also in a golden spell landed the complete set of Barritt Cup, Alves Cup and Cookson Cup, while the Reserves lifted the NWCFA Junior Cup.
Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: