North Wales football’s greatest stories – No1 Bangor City’s 15-0 (2010/11)

Neville Powell was Welsh Premier Manager of the Season in 2010/11 after his Bangor City team won the title and set a modern-day British record of 15 straight wins

Neville Powell’s reign as Bangor City manager between 2007-2016 had so many highlights, but one of the most admirable achievements is perhaps not celebrated as much as it should be.

The start of the 2010-11 campaign saw the Citizens set a modern-day British record by winning their first 15 Welsh Premier League matches.

On December 4, 2010, Powell’s side beat Reading’s all-time Football League best 13 wins in a row achieved at the beginning of 1985/86 when the Royals lifted the old Third Division title.

Bangor had already set a modern-day top flight record by making it 12 successive victories when they defeated Bala on October 29, 2010, bettering the previous 11 out of 11 by the great Tottenham Hotspur Division One championship-winning team at the start of 1960/61.

The British all-time record at the time was 18 consecutive wins achieved by Glasgow Rangers, but that was going back more than 100 years to the commencement of the 1898/99 campaign.

City’s 15-match winning run finally ceased on December 14, 2010, when they were held 1-1 at Airbus. Two games later, they suffered a first league loss when going down 4-2 at Prestatyn Town on January 2, 2011.

Bangor did eventually go on to win their third WPL title, but needed to beat TNS 1-0 at Farrar Road in the final match of the season to seal a first crown in 16 years.

The Citizens’ form was nowhere near as consistent after that 15-game victorious streak was stopped, but they still got over the line.

TNS have won all seven WPL titles since.

Saints also went on to better City’s modern-day British record when they won their first 21 league matches of the 2016/17 season on the way to breaking Ajax’s all-time world best 26 consecutive victories in all competitions.

However, no-one can take away what Bangor City achieved at the start of that memorable 2010/11 campaign – the first season the Welsh Premier took on the “Super 12” format.

Here is how they did it…..

1) AUG 14 – NEATH (HOME) 2-1 (Morley pen, Jebb)

Substitute Eddie Jebb’s late strike sealed victory and got City’s season off to a flyer at Farrar Road. Dave Morley earlier edged the all-blues in front with a penalty before Liam Hancock equalised.

2) AUG 21 – BALA TOWN (AWAY) 3-2 (Morley pen, Jones, Bull)

Bangor trailed early at Maes Tegid, but they were in control by the break courtesy of a Morley spot-kick and further net finders from Chris Jones and Alan Bull which secured the points.

3) AUG 28 – LLANELLI (HOME) 2-0 (Morley pen, Reed)

Nev Powell’s men were different class this day, another Morley penalty and exquisite Jamie Reed finish putting them two-up before the interval and the win should have been more emphatic.

4) SEP 4 – CARMARTHEN TOWN (AWAY) 1-0 (Morley pen)

This was a really tough test for the Citizens at Richmond Park, Morley bagging the tightest of victories with yet another spot-kick success.

5) SEP 10 – AIRBUS UK BROUGHTON (HOME) 5-1 (Reed 3, Bull, Davies)

Reed was on fire with a classic hat-trick and two absolute scorchers from Bull and Les Davies rounded off a stunning triumph.

6) SEP 18 – PORT TALBOT TOWN (AWAY) 2-1 (Jebb, Reed)

Port took an early lead, but a fantastic volley from outside the box from Jebb levelled it and Reed made it 2-1 in the second half from a corner.

7) SEP 26 – ABERYSTWYTH TOWN (HOME) 2-1 (Jones, Davies)

A much more comfortable victory than the scoreline suggested, Jones volleying the hosts ahead by the interval before Davies made the points safe with a late second.

8) OCT 2 – THE NEW SAINTS (HOME) 4-3 (Bull, Brewerton, Reed, Davies)

Despite going behind to a Steve Evans header, City hit back to overrun the full-timers, Bull and James Brewerton putting them ahead at half time before Reed and Davies added to the tally.
Two late TNS goals gave the final score a flattering look for the champions.


Bangor conceded their customary early goal on their travels – this one coming inside 30 seconds – but Bull’s razor-sharp finishing brought a double to pocket the points.

10) OCT 16 – NEWTOWN (HOME) 5-2 (Bull 2, Ward, Morley pen, Brewerton)

Bull and Nicky Ward netted screamers in a dynamic opening 45 minutes from the Welsh Premier leaders and although Newtown hinted at a fightback in the second half, Bull and Brewerton netbusters guaranteed a home win.

11) OCT 23 – NEATH (AWAY) 2-1 (Davies, Reed)

Bangor broke the record for the most wins from the start of a season by a Welsh Premier team. They fell behind at The Gnoll to a second half Chris Jones penalty, but Davies and Reed’s late heartstopper turned the tables.

12) OCT 29 – BALA TOWN (HOME) 3-0 (Reed 2, Ward)

City break Tottenham’s start-of-a-season top flight record with a 12th win in a row. Reed (2) and a Ward thunderbolt provide the magic.

13) NOV 20 – CARMARTHEN TOWN (HOME) 5-0 (Bull 3, Morley pen, Edwards)

Sion Edwards’ left-foot rocket rounded off a scintillating City display with the fifth goal in front of an adoring Farrar Road support. Bull plundered a first hat-trick for the team and Morley converted a penalty.

14) DEC 4 – PORT TALBOT TOWN (HOME) 8-1 (Reed 5, Hoy 2, Garside)

This game survived a power cut but Port Talbot were sank without trace as Reed hit five and City recorded their biggest WPL win since 2003. Peter Hoy (2) and Craig Garside also scored in a ruthless rout.

15) DEC 11 – ABERYSTWYTH TOWN (AWAY) 3-1 (Davies, Reed 2)

The biggest thriller of the lot. Down to 10 men after the 65th minute dismissal of keeper Paul Smith, City were locked at 1-1 going into the 90th minute – was the record about to end?
Enter Reed with a deadly double to make it 15 straight wins for Bangor, who had earlier led through Davies.


Played 15

Won 15

Drawn 0

Lost 0

Goals Scored 49

Goals Against 15


16 – Jamie Reed

10 – Alan Bull

6 – Dave Morley (all pens)

5 – Les Davies

2 – Eddie Jebb, Chris Jones, Peter Hoy, James Brewerton, Nicky Ward

1 – Craig Garside, Sion Edwards

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: