Award success: Well done Johnathan Griffiths – a credit to refereeing in Wales

Johnathan Griffiths (left) was a hugely popular choice as Match Official of the Year for the North East Wales Football League

One of the most popular winners in the 2021-22 North East Wales Football League awards was the Match Official of the Year.

The accolade went to Mr Johnathan Griffiths, an extremely popular referee with the league and its clubs.

League fixtures secretary Nicki Beech said: “He is known as the ‘gentleman in football’ due to his calm nature and his explaining for every decision.”

New Brighton Villa commented on social media: “Best ref we’ve had all season. Fair, explains his decisions and doesn’t have an ego. Congrats “

Ruabon Rovers added: “Excellent Ref, always a gentleman.”

Andrew Ruscoe, head of football at FC United of Wrexham, said: “Fully deserved, proper gentleman and a credit to our footballing community. Well done John.”


Secretary of the Year

Debi Ross of Connah’s Quay Town receives her Championship Secretary of the Year from NEWFA General Secretary Dave Fawkes

Nicki Beech said: “All secretaries have been very good with admin and club affairs, but these three secretaries named did not drop the ball once.
“Paperwork was submitted in quick time after a game, Comet was completed, and this is what my decision was based on.”

Premier Division – Sarah Warburton (Cefn Mawr Rangers)
Championship Division – Debi Ross (Connah’s Quay Town)
Reserve Division – Gary Crewe (Castell Alun Colts)

Award received on behalf of Gary Crewe

Fair Play Award

CPD Sychdyn

Top Goalscorer

Dean Hyland receives his award from Dave Fawkes

Premier Division – Dean Hyland (Greenfield)
Championship Division – Keiye Williams (CPD Sychdyn)

Matthew Bithell (right)

Reserve Division – Matthew Bithell (FC Queen’s Park): This one was worked out using cup goals due to Kacper Wojciech being on equal league goals

Manager of the Year (tributes by Nicki Beech)

Dave Evans (right)

Premier Division – Dave Evans (FC Queen’s Park): Had a very busy season between the first team and the vets, and still the lads gave him 100% (as well as the extra 10% Dave suggested on the sideline during the Horace Wynne Cup second half)

Championship Division – Gareth Tunnicliffe (Penyffordd Lions): The decision was made on the togetherness and effort of the staff and players right throughout the season. Gareth took the team to the last game of the season, leading the division up to the later part of the last fixture against Connah’s Town FC. We can no way discount the fact that Connah’s Town had an excellent season under Gav Parry, three trophies in a season. We expect to see more of this next season.

Award collected on behalf of Gareth Tunnicliffe

Reserve Division – Lee Colston (Hawarden Rangers Reserves): Lee has had an amazing season with Hawarden Rangers, the connection showed between the players and his staff carries a huge amount of respect for each other. You could not fault the commitment from this team and it has been a pleasure to have them in our league this last season.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: