Logs finishes top of the pile with a stunning 68 goals to win 2021-22 Bob Brodie Trophy

All hail the goal king – Marc Evans of Bodedern Athletic. Picture: WYNNE EVANS

Bodedern Athletic’s Marc Evans is the outstanding winner of the 2021-22 Bob Brodie Trophy.

Perhaps surprisingly, it is the first time the prolific Anglesey-based striker has finished top of the chart, but he has played a lot of his football off the island.

Evans’ total of 68 goals is the second highest since the competition began in 2011-12 as a tribute to the late Bob Brodie, a Scotsman who made Ynys Môn his home and enjoyed a productive football career as player and manager.

Known popularly as ‘Logs’, the 32 year old Evans’ goals tally came in just 42 appearances and was made up of…..

North Wales Coast West League Premier Division: 38 goals in 26 games
Premier Division Cup: 7 goals in 4 games
NWCFA Intermediate Challenge Cup: 4 goals in 2 games
FAW Amateur Trophy: 13 goals in 6 games
FAW Welsh Cup: 6 goals in 4 games

Runner-up in the Bob Brodie, and crazily still yet to win the trophy, was Evans’ team-mate Asa Thomas, who scored 58 times in all competitions over just 35 games.

The pair amassed a remarkable 126 goals between them for the Premier Division West champions.

Thomas now has 582 career goals in the bank at the age of 31.

Third was Louis Chapman, a 21-year-old wonder who banged in 51 goals for Caergybi in just 32 matches.


68 – Marc Evans (Bodedern Athletic)

58 – Asa Thomas (Bodedern Athletic)

51 – Louis Chapman (Caergybi)

40 – Matt Reynolds (Cemaes Bay)

27 – Gwion Thomas (Llannerchymedd)

24 – Jay Finter (Llanfairpwll)

19 – Gary-Jo Owen (Caergybi)

18 – Mathew Roberts (Cemaes Bay), Dean Redmond (Menai Bridge Tigers)

17 – Marquis Holland (Llanfairpwll), Kaine Bentley (Holyhead Town)

16 – Nathan Moore (Aberffraw), Anthony Williams (Llangoed/Llangoed Reserves)

15 – Sam Gregson (Bodedern Athletic), Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers), Steven Jones (Bodorgan)

14 – Mark Jones (Llannerchymedd)

13 – Connor Owen (Gwalchmai), Nathan Lewis (CPD Cefni)

12 – Liam Morris (Holyhead Hotspur), Sam Wiltshire (Cemaes Bay)

11 – Jay Gibbs (Holyhead Hotspur), Dion Owen (Gwalchmai), Llion Vaughan Jones (Llannerchymedd), Leon Owen (Pentraeth), Keenan Downey (Cemaes Bay), James Burgess (Amlwch Town, 8 for Llannerchymedd), Craig Moore (Holyhead Hotspur Reserves)

10 – Luke Miles (CPD Y Fali), Lewis Owen (Llangefni Town Res), Andy Williams (Cemaes Bay)

9 – Darren Lewthwaite (Gaerwen – 6 for Bodedern Athletic),Casey Gregg (Bodedern Athletic), Callum Thomas (Menai Bridge Tigers), Tudur Williams (Glantraeth), Ian Williams (Holyhead Town), Cai Miller (CPD Y Fali), Connor Rees (Bodorgan)

8 – James Ryan (Holyhead Town), Gary Bolton (Aberffraw), Chris Bennett (Llannerchymedd)

7 – Casey Boylan (Bodedern Athletic), Ryan Lees (Bodedern), Dylan Summers-Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Craig Roberts (Menai Bridge Tigers), Jenson Rowlands (Gwalchmai), Richard Roberts (Aberffraw), Scott Hughes (Glantraeth – now joined Bethesda), Dave Webb (Caergybi), Luke Owen (Llanfairpwll), Tom Kelly (Llannerchymedd – 2 for Llangefni Town), Callum Graves (Menai Bridge Tigers), Tom Scott (Caergybi)

6 – Mike Edwards (Caergybi), Marc Parry (CPD Cefni), Ben Owen (Llangefni Town Res), Sol Williams (Cemaes Bay), Gethin Davies (Llannerchymedd), Luke Winter (Bodorgan), Luke McKittrick (Cemaes Bay), Ryan Rowlands (Amlwch Town), Luke Allaway (CPD Cefni), Joshua Evans (Holyhead Hotspur Reserves)

5 – Connor Gordon (Glantraeth), Jack Smith (Llangefni Town), Tom Wood (Bodedern Athletic), Jordan Taylor (Bodedern Athletic), Carwyn Roberts (Llanfairpwll), Wayne Thomas (Llangoed/Llangoed Reserves), Ben Wright (CPD Cefni), Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur Res 4/Holyhead Hotspur 1), Keenan Latham (Bodorgan), Jamie Baker (Gaerwen), Cameron Jones (Gwalchmai), Jac Thomas (Amlwch Town), Matthew Owen (Llangoed/Reserves), Gethin Davies (Glantraeth), Geraint Jones (Cemaes Bay), Tom Hadley (Caergybi), Phillip Davies (CPD Cefni), Daniel Evans (Llannerchymedd), Gavin Sharpe (Llannerchymedd)


2021/22 Marc Evans (Bodedern Athletic – tier 4 North Wales Coast West Premier Division) 68 goals
2020/21 Season cancelled – no competition
2019/20 Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 39
2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16 Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15 Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14 Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13 Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12 Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: