Cymru North squad chosen for a shot at Europe

Liam Morris (right) has been chosen for the Cymru North squad. Picture: FAW

The squads for the upcoming play-off to determine which region will represent Cymru in the UEFA Regions’ Cup have been confirmed.

Tier 2 Leagues JD Cymru North and JD Cymru South will clash over two legs for the right to fly the flag for Wales in Europe.

This competition used to offer Tier 4 and 5 players the chance to carry their country’s colours, but the FAW decided to give grassroots the cold shoulder and show preference to higher leagues instead.

In the Cymru North squad, manager Guy Handscombe has selected three players each from Conwy Borough, Ruthin Town and Holywell Town, along with two from Colwyn Bay and Guilsfield.

Players from Llanuwchllyn, Buckley Town, Holyhead Hotspur, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant and Llanrwst United have also been called up.

The two sides will battle it out over two legs in May, with the winning region of the play-off going on to represent Cymru in the intermediate round stage of the UEFA competition in October later this year.

The first game will take place at Denbigh Town’s Central Park on Sunday 8th May, while Old Road Welfare Ground, the home of Briton Ferry Llansawel, will host the second leg, with both ties getting under way at 2:30pm.

The 18-man squads are made up of players who have never played in the JD Cymru Premier and never been a professional.

Players must have been registered in Wales, within their region for a minimum of two years and were between 19-40 years old at the date of their first appearance to be eligible.

Cymru North squad

Rob Dascalu (Llanuwchllyn – GK)
Cameron Darling (Buckley Town – GK)
Jake Cooke (Holywell Town)
Harry Lockley (Conwy Borough)
Chris Cathrall (Guilsfield)
Jordan Carrington (Colwyn Bay)
Sam Downey (Colwyn Bay)
Jamie Cumming (Ruthin Town)
Osian Davies (Ruthin Town)
Liam Morris (Holyhead Hotspur)
Matty Hill (Ruthin Town)
Dylan Allshorn (Holywell Town)
Luke Wiltshire (Holywell Town)
Khyam Wyton (Llanrhaeadr Ym Mochnant)
Ben Lockley (Conwy Borough)
Meilir Williams (Conwy Borough)
Jamie Hyne (Guilsfield)
Callum Parry (Llanrwst United)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: