All-time records in the Bob Brodie goalscorer trophy are under threat!

Marc Evans (second from right) celebrates another goal with his Bodedern team-mates. Picture: WYNNE EVANS

The remarkable seasons of Bodedern Athletic pairing Marc Evans and Asa Thomas hit a new landmark this week when the duo reached 100 combined goals between them for the campaign.

Evans’ 55 and Thomas’ total of 46 raised their tally to 101 goals between them in league and cup in 2021-22.

With around another 10 matches for the pair still possible this season, one wonders what their final amalgamated figure will be.

This is not the first time two Anglesey strikers have scored 100 goals or more between them in a single senior football season since the Bob Brodie Trophy began in 2011-12.

In 2013-14, Morawelon marksmen Gary-Jo Owen and (yes you’ve guessed it) Asa Thomas notched 106 goals – Owen 57 and Thomas 49.

Then in 2018-19, CPD Caergybi’s James Ryan and Gary-Jo Owen bagged 101 Ryan 72 (still a Bob Brodie record in one season) and Owen 29. However, they may not all have been scored as a partnership at the same club.

It looks almost a certainty that the combined record of 106 will go this season, but could either threaten Ryan’s all-time best 72?


In 2012/13, Tom Taylor (58) and Gareth Roberts (39) scored 97 goals between them for Pentraeth, yet NEITHER won the Bob Brodie Trophy, which went to Menai Bridge Tigers poacher Lance “One Chance” Williams with 62.

BOB BRODIE GOALSCORERS TROPHY 2021-22 (up to and including Thursday, April 7, 2022)

55 – Marc Evans (Bodedern Athletic)

46 – Asa Thomas (Bodedern Athletic)

40 – Louis Chapman (Caergybi)

33 – Matty Reynolds (Cemaes Bay)

22 – Gwion Thomas (Llannerchymedd)

21 – Jay Finter (Llanfairpwll)

19 – Gary-Jo Owen (Caergybi)

18 – Dean Redmond (Menai Bridge Tigers)

17 – Marquis Holland (Llanfairpwll)

15 – Kaine Bentley (Holyhead Town), Nathan Moore (Aberffraw), Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers)

14 – Sam Gregson (Bodedern Athletic), Mark Jones (Llannerchymedd), Steven Jones (Bodorgan), Anthony Williams (Llangoed/Llangoed Reserves)

13 – Mathew Roberts (Cemaes Bay)

12 – Connor Owen (Gwalchmai)

11 – Liam Morris (Holyhead Hotspur), Dion Owen (Gwalchmai)

10 – Leon Owen (Pentraeth), Luke Miles (CPD Y Fali), Sam Wiltshire (Cemaes Bay)

9 – Callum Thomas (Menai Bridge Tigers), Tudur Williams (Glantraeth), Craig Moore (Holyhead Hotspur Reserves), Llion Vaughan Jones (Llannerchymedd), Lewis Owen (Llangefni Town Res)

8 – Jay Gibbs (Holyhead Hotspur), Casey Gregg (Bodedern Athletic), James Ryan (Holyhead Town), James Burgess (Llannerchymedd), Keenan Downey (Cemaes Bay), Gary Bolton (Aberffraw)

7 – Craig Roberts (Menai Bridge Tigers), Jenson Rowlands (Gwalchmai), Chris Bennett (Llannerchymedd), Richard Roberts (Aberffraw), Scott Hughes (Glantraeth – now joined Bethesda), Andy Williams (Cemaes Bay), Dave Webb (Caergybi), Luke Owen (Llanfairpwll), Tom Kelly (Llannerchymedd – 2 for Llangefni Town), Ian Williams (Holyhead Town), Connor Rees (Bodorgan), Callum Graves (Menai Bridge Tigers)

6 – Casey Boylan (Bodedern Athletic), Darren Lewthwaite (Bodedern Athletic), Marc Parry (CPD Cefni), Ben Owen (Llangefni Town Res), Sol Williams (Cemaes Bay)

5 – Dylan Summers-Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Jack Smith (Llangefni Town), Jordan Taylor (Bodedern Athletic), Ryan Rowlands (Amlwch Town), Carwyn Roberts (Llanfairpwll), Gethin Davies (Llannerchymedd), Wayne Thomas (Llangoed/Llangoed Reserves), Ben Wright (CPD Cefni), Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur Res 4/Holyhead Hotspur 1), Keenan Latham (Bodorgan), Nathan Lewis (CPD Cefni), Jamie Baker (Gaerwen), Cameron Jones (Gwalchmai), Jac Thomas (Amlwch Town), Matthew Owen (Llangoed/Reserves), Gethin Davies (Glantraeth), Luke Winter (Bodorgan), Luke McKittrick (Cemaes Bay)


The 2012-13 Bob Brodie Trophy winner Lance Williams

2020/21 Season cancelled – no competition
2019/20 Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 39
2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: