Big-names stumble in women’s football licensing process – but it’s great news for 1879 and 1876

CPD Y Rhyl 1879 (white) have achieved a Tier 2 licence which makes them eligible for promotion to the Adran North. Picture: MATT JOHNSON

Wrexham AFC Women are among the teams surprisingly turned down in their first attempt for a licence to remain in the Tier 2 Adran North league next season.

The 2021-22 runners-up and under-19 national finalists are among eight clubs to be refused an Adran North/South licence at the first time of asking.

The others are: Bethel, Connah’s Quay Nomads and Pwllheli from the north, plus Llanfair United, Caldicot Town, Cardiff Bluebelles and Newport City from mid/south.

Rebuffed clubs have 10 days in which to submit an appeal.

It is thought the majority of the eight rejections were based on minor issues and most on appeal will be able to turn things around.

Four North Wales clubs have had applications for a Tier 2/Adran North licence approved – champions Llandudno, Airbus UK Broughton, CPDM Bangor 1876 and CPD Y Rhyl 1879.

Rhyl and Bangor are currently in the tier three North Wales Women’s League.

1879 are top and favourites to win the title – if they achieve this promotion is theirs. 1876 are outsiders to finish in first place, but it is still a commendable feat to earn the higher level licence.

On securing a Tier 2 licence, CPD Y Rhyl 1879 Women’s chief spokesman Tom Jamieson wrote on social media: “We are thrilled and excited to have passed FAW tier 2 licensing criteria – hard work pays off.”

Three clubs have withdrawn their applications for an FAW Adran North/South Tier 2 licence – Denbigh Town, Llangefni Town and Merthyr Town.

Denbigh finished bottom of the Adran North this season, while Llangefni have enjoyed a positive debut campaign in the North Wales League but are still a team in development.

The FAW First Instance Body (FIB) met today to assess and consider the UEFA, Adran Premier Licence and Adran North/South Licence applications.

Clubs are assessed on the following criteria: Sporting: Youth & Coaching, Infrastructure, Legal, Personnel, Financial and Codes of Practice.

The Club Licensing system aims to assist the continual improvement and development of football clubs at the top level within Wales. Licensing is a transparent process that enables clubs to demonstrate to their stakeholders that they meet quality standards.

Following today’s meeting, the independent FIB Panel has decided on the following:

UEFA Licence for 2022/23 Season (3 clubs)

Aberystwyth Town
Cardiff City
Cardiff Met

Adran Premier Licence for 2022/23 Season (6 clubs)

Aberystwyth Town
Barry Town United
Briton Ferry Llansawel
Cardiff Met
Port Talbot

Adran North/South Licence for 2022/23 Season (7 clubs)


Airbus UK Broughton
CPDM Bangor 1876
CPD Y Rhyl 1879


Pontardawe Town
Swansea University
Talycopa AFC

Refused Adran Premier Licence for 2022/23 Season (5 clubs)

Cardiff City
Cascade YC
Pontypridd Town
Swansea City
The New Saints

Refused Adran North/South Licence for 2022/23 Season (8 clubs)

Caldicot Town
Cardiff Bluebelles
Connah’s Quay Nomads
Llanfair United
Newport City
CPD Pwllheli
Wrexham AFC Women

Withdrawn FAW Adran North/South Licence for Applications (3 clubs)

Denbigh Town
Merthyr Town
Llangefni Town

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: