Chris Byast steps down as Amlwch Town manager

Chris Byast (left). Picture: GETHIN JONES

Chris Byast has stepped down as manager of North Wales Coast League West Premier Division side Amlwch Town.

He and his partner, Sophie, have just become proud parents to little Casi Lois.

Byast will still be available to play and remains part of the club’s committee.

Shaun Pritchard will step in as manager for the remaining games of this season with Pat Thomas and Sion Parry alongside him.

Interim chairman, Adrian Jones, said, “Thank you Chris for all your hard work. You stepped in at a difficult time and although the results haven’t been what we wanted, we do have a squad that can move forward and grow stronger. Thanks again for all your hard work.”

Byast took on the role of permanent manager at Lon Bach in February 2021 having been interim boss for the previous six months.

The 29-year-old has spent much of his playing career at Amlwch, netting 20 goals for the club back in 2014-15, but has also worn the colours of Cemaes Bay and CPD Llannerchymedd.

Before Coronavirus decimated the 2020-21 campaign, Amlwch had delivered some great pre-season performances under Byast.

The current 2021-22 season has seen the all-blues struggle. The team is presently third-from-bottom of the tier 4 Premier Division West with just three wins and 18 defeats on their record.

Byast said on social media this evening: “Thank you Amlwch Town FC for the belief you have shown in me during a difficult season. I’m very grateful for the opportunity I had. Despite the poor results I’ve enjoyed every second of my time as manager.

“I think it’s the right time for me to step back on the pitch and try and help the team on it. I wish Shaun Pritchard, Patrick Thomas and Sion Parry all the best and hopefully things will pick up.”

Amlwch Town FC – Club Honours

Anglesey League champions (9): 1946-47, 1947-48, 1948-49, 1949-50, 1950-51, 1970-71, 1971-72, 1996-97, 2005-06
Gwynedd League champions (1): 1997-98
Welsh Alliance League champions (1): 2001-02
Dargie Cup winners (4): 1967-68, 1968-69, 1989-90, 2004-05
Megan Cup winners (4): 1948-49, 1966-67, 1967-68, 1996-97
Elias Cup winners (3): 1964-65, 1999-2000, 2005-06
NWCFA Junior Cup winners (3): 1949-50, 1955-56, 1996-97
Cwpan Gwynedd winners (1): 1997-98
Eryri Shield winners (1): 1997-98
Alves Cup winners (2): 1998-99, 2001-02
JW Lees Shield winners (1): 1985-86
AEEU Cup winners (1): 2004-05
Trophies won: 31

Women’s team

North Wales Women Football League Division Two champions 2019-20
North Wales Women’s Football League Supplementary Cup winners 2018-19

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: