Ruthin Town reach NEWFA Challenge Cup last four after narrow win at Mold

RUTHIN, WALES - 28 JANUARY 2022: JD Cymru North league fixture between Ruthin Town FC & Llandudno FC, Memorial Playing Fields, Ruthin, Wales, 28th January, Wales, UK. (Pic By Alun Roberts/FAW)

Ruthin Town’s Llyr Morris (blue – No 9) scored the winner at Mold. Morris is pictured playing for Ruthin in a previous game versus Llandudno. PICTURE: ALUN ROBERTS/FAW

North East Wales Football Association Challenge Cup quarter-final – REPORT MARCH 9

Mold Alex 1 (Warren 44)
Ruthin Town 2 (Hill 43, Morris 69)

A fantastic advert for North Wales football saw Cymru North visitors Ruthin edge past Ardal North West hosts Mold to reach the semi-finals of the NEWFA Challenge Cup.

Ruthin join Chirk Town, FC Queen’s Park and Buckley Town in the last four.

Wednesday night’s last of the quarter-final ties at Alyn Park saw FAW Trophy semi-finalists Mold of tier 3 take on a very strong Ruthin outfit from a pyramid level above.

The visitors applied early pressure which Alex dealt with well and in the 18th minute the Ardal NW leaders went close when a Rhyss Nash strike was superbly saved by Dan Goldston.

Town upped the pressure and took the lead on 43 minutes with a marvellous individual effort from Matty Hill – his 15th goal in all competitions this term.

Mold hit straight back, top scorer Danny Warren putting away his 34th goal of the season to make it one-apiece at the turnaround.

Elliot Quinlan produced a good stop in the Mold goal early in the second half to keep the tie level.

However, from a 67th minute corner, Llyr Morris struck to put the visitors back in front.

Jamie Cumming thought he had made it 3-1, but was adjudged offside.

Late pressure from the hosts came to nothing and Ruthin held on for the victory.

Mold Alexandra

Elliot Quinlan, Matthew Lewis, Guto Hughes, Ryan Jones (Alex Smith 70), Steve Watkins, Ryan Coney (Jimmy Ellina 73), Dominic Doherty, Danny Warren (Liam Bruford 78), Joe Ormrod, Henry Carver, Rhyss Nash.

Ruthin Town

Dan Goldston, Joe Sullivan, Daniel Cox, Mathew Evans, Vita Mbolokele, Osian Davies, Jamie Cumming, Sam Rickett, Llyr Morris, Charlie Williams (Joshua Jones 77), Matty Hill (Will Owen 70).


1969-70 Brymbo SW
1970-71 Brymbo SW
1971-72 Bala Town
1972-73 Gresford Athletic
1973-74 Llangollen
1974-75 Buckley Rovers
1975-76 Rhosddu
1976-77 Llay Welfare
1977-78 Cefn Albion
1978-79 Sunblest United
1979-80 Buckley Town
1980-81 Buckley Town
1981-82 Brymbo SW
1982-83 Brymbo SW
1983-84 Llay R.B.L.
1984-85 Brymbo SW
1985-86 Mold Alex
1986-87 Mold Alex
1987-88 Mold Alex
1988-89 Lex Xl
1989-90 Llay RBL
1990-91 Lex Xl
1991-92 Gresford Athletic
1992-93 Cefn Druids
1993-94 Wrexham AFC
1994-95 Wrexham AFC
1995-96 Brymbo
1996-97 Rhostyllen Villa
1997-98 Wrexham AFC
1998-99 Flexsys Cefn Druids
1999-2000 Oswestry Town
2000-01 Buckley Town
2001-02 Buckley Town
2002-03 Buckley Town
2003-04 Bala Town
2004-05 Buckley Town
2005-06 Buckley Town
2006-07 Bala Town
2007-08 Bala Town
2008-09 Lex Xl
2009-10 Buckley Town
2010-11 Rhos Aelwyd
2011-12 Cefn Druids
2012-13 Buckley Town
2013-14 Cefn Druids
2014-15 Mold Alexandra
2015-16 Cefn Druids
2016-17 Gresford Athletic
2017-18 Ruthin Town
2018-19 Cefn Druids
2019-20 Competition incomplete (Covid-19)
2020-21 Competition cancelled (Covid-19)


9 – Buckley Town

6 – Brymbo, Cefn Druids

4 – Bala Town, Mold Alexandra

3 – Wrexham, Lex XI, Gresford Athletic

2 – Llay RBL

1 – Ruthin Town, Rhos Aelwyd, Llangollen, Llay Welfare, Buckley Rovers, Rhosddu, Cefn Albion, Sunblest United, Rhostyllen Villa, Oswestry Town.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: