Goals at the ready – the Bob Brodie Trophy is back for 2021-22

Marc Evans (right) is the early leader in the Bob Brodie Trophy standings with 10 goals in four matches. Photo: WYNNE EVANS

Grassroots North Wales is delighted to announce the competition to crown Anglesey senior football’s highest goalscorer is back.

The Bob Brodie Trophy has been played for since 2011/12 and is named in honour of a much-loved former player and manager who lived on the island.

With no competitive football below tier 1 in 2020-21 due to Covid restrictions, the last Bob Brodie Trophy was won in 2019-20 – a season cut short by coronavirus – by Cemaes Bay marksman Steven Whittaker.

What lies ahead in 2021-22 no-one knows, but for now our football is back and players performing in the tier 2 Cymru North, tier 4 North Wales Coast West Premier Division, tier 5 North Wales Coast West Division One and reserves leagues are all eligible to scoop the Brodie Trophy.

The competition has its critics, one club chairman and indeed some of its members in particular have been downright unpleasant about it, but the most important thing to remember is the event celebrates proud Scotsman Bob, a highly-popular player and manager on Anglesey since the 1970s.

The only reason the competition would ever cease is if the Brodie family requested it, or I no longer covered local football in the media.

For now, here are the early standings in the 2021-22 BOB BRODIE TROPHY (list up to date on and including July 21, 2021)

10 – Marc Evans (Bodedern Athletic)

7 – Louis Chapman (Caergybi)

6 – Asa Thomas (Bodedern Athletic)

5 – Marc Parry (CPD Cefni)

4 – Anthony Williams (Llangoed), Leon Owen (Pentraeth)

3 – Liam Billington (Amlwch Town), Jac Thomas (Amlwch Town), Sam Gregson (Bodedern Athletic), Sion Jones (Gaerwen), Tudur Williams (Glantraeth), Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers), Dean Redmond (Menai Bridge Tigers), Gwynfor Owen (CPD Cefni), Luke Miles (CPD Y Fali), Tom Kelly (Llannerchymedd), Mark Jones (Llannerchymedd), Chris Bennett (Llannerchymedd)


2020/21 Season cancelled – no competition
2019/20 Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 39
2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16 Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15 Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14 Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13 Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12 Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: