North Wales Women’s Football League will return to one-division format

Trearddur Bay Bulls (right) and Llangefni Town will both compete in the new-look North Wales Women’s League

The North Wales Women’s Football League will comprise 12 teams all in the one division this season, it has been confirmed.

The league returns to the format which existed before 2018-19, when it was split into two divisions for the first time.

Making up the NWWFL in 2021-22 will be:

Amlwch Town
CPDM Bangor 1876
CPD Y Rhyl 1879
Caernarfon Town
Holywell Girls & Women
Llangefni Town
Northop Hall
Trearddur Bay Bulls

Colwyn Bay, who were scheduled to compete in the league having been rejected for Tier 2 North, were not mentioned among the NWWFL clubs registered tonight.

League chairman Ian Reece reported that the Bay had not entered due to a lack of players.

“We’ll be working with them as a league to help them with whatever we can to get a team ready for next season 2022/23,” said Mr Reece.

The North Wales League forms part of the third-tier of the new-look Welsh women’s football pyramid.

For the first time this season, an elite Tier 2 North league has been formed, whose members are: Airbus UK Broughton, Bethel, Connah’s Quay Nomads, Denbigh Town, Llandudno, Llanfair United, Pwllheli and Wrexham.

All North Wales Women’s League teams will play each other once in the first half of the season before the same happens in the second half.

The officers who were on post have been voted back in apart from two newcomers.
Chairman – Ian Reece
Discipline – Ian Reece
Treasurer – Gareth Lloyd
Secretary- Emma Iball
Fixtures – Veronica Johnson (new)
Referees – Keith Cherrett
Webmaster & social media – Conor Jones (new)

After all league games have been played the clubs will participate in the in-house cup competition the Betty Pickering.

Teams will also take part in their respective Area Association cup competitions, namely NEWFA, NWCFA and Central Wales.

Then along the way are the FAW Welsh Women’s Cup dates which are set in stone and cannot be altered.

The North Wales Women’s Football League will commence fixtures on September 5, 2021.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: