Late withdrawals leave North East Wales Football League with two even number divisions

Acton celebrate winning the 2018-19 Premier Cup. They have now withdrawn from the North East Wales Football League

Two late withdrawals from the North East Wales Football League this week has left both of its divisions with even numbers.

Acton pulled out of the Premier Division ahead of their scheduled Friday night opener at Lex XI, while Deeside FC earlier removed themselves from the lower level Championship.

This now leaves 14 teams in the Premier Division and 12 in the Championship.

Late entries for the tier 5 Championship included Brymbo Lodge and FC United of Wrexham.

Formed in 2011, Acton had been part of the former Clwyd East and North East Wales leagues and were runners-up in the latter in 2018-19.

In that same season, they ended Flint Mountain’s hopes of a five-timer by beating them 5-2 in the Goals Premier Cup final, the prolific Niall Challinor, perhaps Acton’s best-known player in their relatively short history, scoring a hat-trick.

Line-ups 2021-22 season

Premier Division (14)

Brymbo Victoria
Castell Alun Colts
Cefn Mawr Rangers
Chirk Town
Coedpoeth United
FC Queen’s Park
Halkyn & Flint Mountain
Hawarden Rangers
Lex XI
Llangollen Town
Mynydd Isa Spartans
New Brighton Villa
Overton Recreational

Championship (12)

AFC Bagillt
Borras Park Albion
Brymbo Lodge
CPD Bellevue
CPD Caerwys
CPD Sychdyn.
Connah’s Quay Town
FC United of Wrexham
Johnstown YFC
Penyffordd Lions
Railway Rovers
Ruabon Rovers

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: