Mysteries of the Welsh cup draws

BURTON-UPON-TRENT, ENGLAND - OCTOBER 27: A general view of the balls being prepared for the FA Cup First Round Draw at St Georges Park on October 27, 2014 in Burton-upon-Trent, England. (Photo by Scott Heavey - The FA/The FA via Getty Images)

Cup draws have caused confusion in Wales – (Photo by Scott Heavey – The FA/The FA via Getty Images)

In the recent draws for the Welsh Cup, FAW Trophy and Women’s Welsh Cup there were a few ‘mystery’ entries.

We’ve queried the matter with the FAW who, as always, have been extremely helpful, and we’re now just awaiting the final state of play.

Here are the questions raised…..


Bethel United
There is a Bethel United in South Wales churches league football. Could it be this club that has entered? If so they are in wrong part of the draw, though. No record anywhere of a Bethel United in North Wales

Bro Goronwy have disbanded for a season


Plas Madoc disbanded end of 2018-19

Llandudno Athletic have also disbanded


Llanberis are believed to have disbanded

Many thanks to David Collins, editor of Welsh Football Magazine, for pointing out there is a Bethel United down south. It is likely this is the team which has entered, but we await confirmation.

We’ve also been informed that once a club is registered with COMET, it is going nowhere, if it disbands or not they stay on the system. So this is possible where the confusion over disbanded clubs still being included in the draws comes in.

The FAW also needs to be informed of the folding of clubs, temporarily or ‘for good’. This may not have been the case with some clubs mentioned above.

However, we can confirm Bro Goronwy e-mailed the FAW on May 11 requesting they withdraw from the Welsh Cup.

DRAWS SENT OUT BY FAW (queried entries in bold)

JD Welsh Cup Qualifying Round 1 North
(ties to be played Saturday, July 10)

Amlwch Town v CPD Pentraeth
Bangor 1876 v Menai Bridge Tigers
Bethel United v CPD Waunfawr
Blaenau Amateurs v Meliden
Bodorgan v Bodedern Athletic
Caerwys v Llanelwy
Castell Alun Colts v Brickfield Rangers
Coedpoeth United v FC Queen’s Park
CPD Cefni v Caergybi
CPD Henllan v Bro Cernyw
CPD Llanberis v Llanrug United
CPD Llannefydd v CPD Llansannan
CPD Y Fali v CPD Bro Goronwy
CPD Y Rhyl 1879 v Rhyl Dragons
Gaerwen v Glantraeth
Greenfield v Rhydymwyn
Halkyn & Flint Mountain v Connah’s Quay Town
Hawarden Rangers v Mynydd Isa Spartans
Llannerchymedd v CPD Aberffraw
Llanfairfechan Town v Llandudno Junction
Llysfaen v Gwalchmai
Mountain Rangers v Nefyn United
New Brighton Villa v Chirk AAA
Penmaenmawr Phoenix v Llandyrnog United
Penrhyndeudraeth v Talysarn Celts
Penycae v Lex XI
Prestatyn Sports v NFA
Pwllheli v Llanystumdwy
Rhos Aelwyd v Cefn Mawr Rangers
Ruabon Rovers v Saltney Town
St Asaph City v Rhuddlan Town
Trearddur Bay Bulls v Llangoed
Y Felinheli v Mynydd Llandegai

Byes to QR2: Brymbo, Cefn Albion, Corwen, Denbigh Town, Llandudno Albion, Llanrwst United, Llanuwchllyn, Llay Welfare, Mold Alexandra, Nantlle Vale, Porthmadog, Rhostyllen.

FAW Trophy round one
(ties to be played July 17, 2021)

Amlwch Town v Glantraeth
Blaenau Ffestiniog v CPD Bangor 1876
Bodedern Athletic v CPD Y Fali
Brickfield Rangers v Chirk AAA
Bro Cernyw v CPD Caer Clwyd
Brymbo v Llanuwchllyn
Caergybi v CPD Aberffraw
Caerwys v Halkyn and Flint Mountain
Castell Alun Colts v Lex XI
Cefn Albion v Ruabon Rovers
Cefn Mawr Rangers v Penycae
Chirk Town v Plas Madoc
Coedpoeth United v Mynydd Isa FC
Connah’s Quay Town v NFA
CPD Henllan v CPD Llannefydd
CPD Llannerchymedd v CPD Pentraeth
CPD Penrhyndeudraeth v Bethesda Athletic
CPD Y Felinheli v Llanystumdwy
CPD Y Rhyl 1879 v St Asaph City
FC Queen’s Park v Saltney Town
Gaerwen v Gwalchmai
Glan Conwy v Abergele FC
Greenfield v Rhuddlan Town
Hawarden Rangers v New Brighton Villa
Llandyrnog United v Rhydywmwyn
Llandudno Athletic v Llanfairfechan Town
Llangoed v CPD Cefni
Llangollen Town v Rhos Aelwyd
Llanrwst United v Llysfaen
Llansannan v Rhyl Dragons
Llay Welfare v Overton Recreation
Meliden v Llandudno Junction
Menai Bridge Tigers v Trearddur Bay Bulls
Mold Alexandra v Penyffordd Lions
Mountain Rangers v Mynydd Llandegai
Nantlle Vale v Llanrug United
CPD Bontnewydd v CPD Llanberis
Penrhyn Bay v Penmaenmawr Phoenix
Prestatyn Sports v Mochdre Sports
Talysarn Celts v Pwllheli
Waunfawr v Nefyn United

Byes to Round 2; Corwen, Denbigh Town, Llandudno Albion, Porthmadog, Rhostyllen.

FAW Women’s Cup qualifying round

Corwen v Connah’s Quay Nomads FC
Llanfair United v Wrexham AFC
Welshpool Town v Airbus UK Broughton
NFA v Northop Hall Girls & Ladies
CPD Llanberis v Bethel
CPD Y Rhyl 1879 v Llanfairfechan Town
Pwllheli v Amlwch Town
Denbigh Town v Llandudno

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: