Thirty years ago Llanrug produced one of the most unlikely league title turnarounds in North Wales football history

Llanrug United won the Gwynedd League in thrilling fashion in 1990-91.
Rhes Gefn (Chwith i’r Dde):
Gary Evans, Richard ‘Dick’ Williams, Adrian Wakeham, Hugh Jones, Dilwyn Morris, Dilwyn Roberts, Gareth Jones, David Phillips.
Rhes Flaen (Chwith i’r Dde):
Dilwyn John Williams, Emlyn ‘Em Tom’ Jones, Gwyn ‘Psycho’ Davies, Pete ‘Coch’ Roberts, Jamie Richardson, G P Jones (Max). Picture by kind permission of CPD Llanrug United.

Thirty years ago North Wales football witnessed one of the most thrilling climaxes to a league title race in its history.

The season was 1990-91 and Llanrug United were going head-to-head with Machno United for the Gwynedd League championship.

With three matches to go, Llanrug still had to face Machno twice before taking on UCNW Bangor in their final game.

Before the first clash between the top two, Machno were on 44 points from 26 games (goal difference + 55) and ‘Rug had 41 from 25 (GD + 44).

On May 11, Llanrug beat Machno 2-1 at Eithin Duon to move level with their rivals on points with a game in hand.

Three days later, more than 300 Llanrug supporters travelled to Penmachno for the return.

The teams were level until two minutes from the end, when Ken Roberts grabbed the winner for Machno, who had now completed their fixtures, while Llanrug still had one to play.

Before Llanrug’s final game at home to the students, the table stood:
Machno United: Played 28 Points 47 (GD + 55)
Llanrug United: Played 27 Points 44 (GD + 44)

This meant Llanrug had to beat mid-table UCNW Bangor by an unlikely margin of 12-0 to claim the title on goal difference.

A large crowd from Machno were at Eithin Duon in anticipation of their team being presented with the league trophy at the end of 90 minutes.

However, Llanrug would not be stopped and had scored the 12 goals required by half time! Many Machno followers left, realising the second half was a foregone conclusion.

In the end, Llanrug won 17-0 to seal the championship on GD.

Scorers on the night were: Dilwyn John Williams 6, Jamie Richardson 3, Dilwyn Roberts 2, Martin Bohana 2, Adrian Wakeham, Dewi Williams, Gwyn Davies, Garry Evans.

There was some consolation for Machno in the Gwynedd Cup as they beat Llanrug in the final at The Oval, Caernarfon, 5-2.

Richard Richards of Machno was league top scorer in 199091 with 35 goals, while Gwynedd League Player of the Season was David Phillips of Llanrug.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: